Stay in a magical little village in the northwest of Greece - long-term childcare needed (opportunity for paid work)!!

updated

Favourited 568 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    11/12/2017

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE DEC. 10, 2017: Deep apologies for those who have written in the past few months and have not received a response. We were in America for a month and have also been dealing with some illness and some other big changes and have not had a chance to respond to many people. We are in the process of reevaluating our needs and also the work available to ensure we can give as honest a description of this placement as possible. We will update again when available!!

    UPDATE *️️️️*️️️️Anna recently got a part-time job and so child care is the main work we need now. We are looking for someone who can stay a minimum of 1 month. Ideally we would love to find a volunteer who could become a permanent nanny whom we would pay. Coming as a volunteer first is a great way to see if we fit together. We need someone who has experience as a child minder, preferably someone who has worked with 2 year olds!!!*️️️️*️️️️

    Hello! We (Kostas & Anna) are a family of 5 (including our dog Tsarlie and cat Muzi) living above our bakery in the beautiful little village of Zitsa (population 500) in the northwest mountains of Greece. Our little girl (her name is Vasiliki, but we call her Beanie, or, The Bug) is 21 1/2 months (as of today, Aug. 14th, 2017) and we would like help 1) with caring for her a few hours a day - 1-2 hours in the morning and 2-3 hours in the afternoon, and 2) helping us set up the bookshop in the new space we are currently moving in to. Beanie is an incredibly fun, silly, smart little creature and we have no doubt you will fall in love with her, as most people who meet her do :) Of course, she is a toddler now, so she also has her strong opinions every now and then!

    However, beyond the child care, there is always a lot going on in our life, so if you wanted to, you could also help in our bakery, taking care of our pets, working in our garden, helping in the bookshop, etc. There is never a shortage of interesting things to do!

    Kostas is the baker of the village - his family has been running the only bakery here for about 25 years and he took over from his father about 20 years ago. Kostas' mother helps him in the bakery, and before having the baby, Anna worked full-time alongside her husband as his assistant baker. Kostas & Anna met via Couchsuring a little over 7 years ago, but it was not love at first sight! After meeting for only 1 day, they got to know each other, and fall in love, slowly, via texting, e-mail, instant messaging and Skype while living 7 time zones apart for 8 months. But when they met each other in person again, it WAS love at first sight and a week later Anna agreed to leave her life in the US to follow her heart. She was an environmental lawyer there, but finds life in a village much more appealing (especially with how connected the world is nowadays!).

    And 2 1/2 years after moving here to Zitsa, Anna opened the first bookshop in the village (the bookshop has been closed for a few months and is in the process of being moved to a new, bigger space where it will be re-opened as a free private library and creative space). The bookshop was created to be a Literary & Culteral Community Center and many Workaway volunteers have spent time there in the past few years.

    We have a passion for meeting new people and love hosting travelers in their home. Our family has a vineyard from which we make our own wine, as well as a 200-sheep farm. The milk from the sheep is used to make cheese, yogurt, and a traditional pasta, and then a lot of the milk is also sold to a diary company in the city of Ioannina about 25 kilometers away. But one of our favorite activities is sitting around with new friends, sharing fresh bread, homemade wine and cheese, and talking about life. We love hearing what people's passions are, as well as sharing stories of our own. We believe life is beautiful and challenging and interesting and meant to be full of love.

    Come join us and explore the life here!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned, child care is the primary help we need. We would like someone who can watch our little one for 1-2 hours in the morning, and 2-3 hours in the afternoon, 5 days a week (We are flexible as to which days of the week). Responsibilities would include playing (we bring her to the bakery every day and let her explore and make big messes, so it's not hard to have fun playing with her!), sitting and eating a meal or snack with her each day (and preparing a small meals for her), changing diapers, taking her outside for walks and, if English is NOT your native language, we would love for you to talk to her in your language to expand her language skills. She is English and Greek bilingual - she is slowly increasing her vocabulary day by day and she understand almost EVERYTHING (which makes life difficult now because we can't talk about her in front of her!).

    We just moved the bookshop into a new space, but the space needs work to make it as beautiful and comfortable and fun as the last space. So we will need help getting everything set up and opening it again to the villagers.

    We could also always use help around our home and bakery - we have a dog who needs to be walked a few times a day, and as the weather warms, we have a garden that needs tending. A lot of these things we can do together. There is also lots to do in our home and in the bakery which is a very fun place to be as it is the heart of the village.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Greek, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private studio-type room with adjoining private bathroom (newly renovated) in Zitsa. The studio is on the bottom level of the house where Kostas' brother & his wife live. There is a shared courtyard entrance, but the studio has its own door and key. Along with the room, we will provide a big family lunch every afternoon around 2:30 (Kostas' mother is an amazing cook and can make any traditional Greek dish! Kostas & Anna are pescatarians (vegetarians who eat fish) but do not mind others eating meat. There is fresh bread and other baked good every day, as well as some of our home-made wine (like most families in the village, we have our own vineyard) and cheese (Kostas' mother makes feta and yogurt from the milk of our sheep - we have a farm with about 200 sheep). Generally breakfast for volunteers is whatever they want from the bakery in the morning. Lunch is the big meal of the day, and dinners together sometimes happen, but sometimes it is just the volunteers making something for themselves or finding leftovers in the bakery from the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned, Zitsa is an amazing place. In the village itself, we have a couple of markets where you can find fresh fruits and vegetables, meat, fish, basic home goods and treats. The village also has some cafes and restaurants, a spectacular free art gallery, a small gym with machines and free weights, schools, a regional autism center, and a famous monastery. In mid-Aug. there is the Zitsa wine festival which is known throughout Greece.

    Zitsa is about 3 1/2 hours from Thessaloniki by bus, and about 6 1/2 from Athens. The west coast and beaches are a little over an hour away. The closest city is Ioannina, which is 25 kilometers. There are 4 buses to Ioannina every day except weekends (so no buses on Sat. or Sun.), though it is usually quite easy to hitch or find a local who can give a ride.

    Nearby is also the famous region of Zagorohoria, and not far is the world-famous Meteora.

    Zitsa is a perfect place for an artist looking for a retreat in a quiet, beautiful setting, an outdoor adventurer looking for new places to explore, or someone interesting in learning intimately about a new culture!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album





Host ref number: 993175643649