Animal and bush loving folk required... Looking for a keen positive person to help me maintain my farm and animals in the tropics of Queensland.

Country

Australia

Favourited 235 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a mature owner of a business plus I also have a farm with horses, pigs and cattle to look after. I live and drive between my two properties. One out of the small township of Cooktown in the rainforest and one in a renovated cottage in the middle of town. The farm in the bush is quaint and rustic. The cottage in town is close to pubs and the library, beaches and the Main Street and has all the normal mod cons including free wifi. I move and look after animals in both properties and it is expected that my helper does the same including staying out at the farm alone on the odd night. Manual and automatic drivers licence is essential as well as a love of horses and dogs. Riding is optional. It's not essential that you know how to ride but it is essential that you are willing to look after horses, chickens, pigs and dogs plus enjoy living in a small but beautiful tropical bush village away from clubs, cinemas and fast food outlets. It wouldn't work if you're dependent on alcohol, drugs, are untidy, lazy, have phobias about creatures and hate being alone some of the time.
    You must tell me your eating preferences.
    Other than that I have been told I am a lovely host, a fab cook and I have beautiful horses.
    Looking forward to welcoming you in my piece of paradise.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    A mornings work, either helping maintain my house or helping me feed and care for my farm animals. If you are experienced with horses I would love a hand training my young horses.
    You must love all animals including chickens, dogs, pigs, cattle and obviously horses.
    I have just bought an old but comfy cottage. I will have trades people in from time to time to help me renovate it but I would love fresh ideas on interior decorating.
    My farm is solar with a wood stove for cooking. So wood needs to be collected as well as my farm animals need feeding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in newly bought old cottage right in the middle of historic Cooktown village. It's a short walk to shops, pubs, clubs and the Main Street and the wharf in Cooktown. My farms are a short road trip away.
    I have free wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cooktown is a place of natural beauty. It's full of old buildings, surrounded by beaches and there are miles of walking tracks to explore. If you're a horse rider there are horses to ride through the pristine bush and along side a giant river with crocodiles. I have 5 dogs, mostly rescue dogs that love cuddles, being bathed and brushed, especially after being taken for a walk down our beach, a short distance away.
    I have free wifi for your internet access. Also free local and interstate telephone calls. (Fixed line , not mobiles).
    I don't mind if you seek paid jobs in your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week as one day could be riding horses.



Host ref number: 992962499193