Help us with horses and enjoy beautiful Plettenberg Bay, the jewel of the Garden Route in South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 183 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Stoneridge Farm is situated just outside the beautiful town of Plettenberg Bay and is the family home of myself (Michele) and my husband Chris Upton we are in our late forties and are both independent business owners with a background in Tourism and Hospitality.

    We have four children. Jake (16) Cabe (15) Lael (12) and Neve (8) Joy and her daughter Ayana also live on site and is our resident permaculture specialist. Rob my brother oversees the volunteers and is also a fantastic chef!

    Our offering is a work in exchange for food and accommodation program. Specifically this work will include grooming, feeding and exercise of horses (we have 7 and a Donkey too!) Also taking the girls on outrides and working with them on their riding technique. Other work may be based around gardening and working the land. Working hours will be no more than 5 hours per day, 5 days per week (please note that the hours may be split into morning and afternoon activities). Ideally volunteers would be proficient riders with a thorough knowledge of horsemanship.

    As a family we are active and pretty loud. We enjoy socializing and entertaining discovering new places and meeting new people. We want our volunteers to feel like part of the family, sample our lifestyle and leave with many fond memories. Plettenberg Bay is the jewel of the world renowned Garden Route - there are beautiful beaches, surf spots, hiking trails and many many activities from mild (Visiting Monkeyland) to wild (jumping off the worlds highest bungy jump at Bloukrans Bridge).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will experience typical warm South African hospitality and local cuisine. They will learn aspects of permaculture and all about the local fauna and flora. The area is beautiful and steeped in history. There are lots of hiking trails, adventure activities and places of interest on our doorstep.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers should be able to have a good command of English and be proficient riders with a good knowledge of horsemanship. Must be animal lovers and enjoy children too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Afrikaans

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our Volunteers are housed in a separate cottage adjacent to the main house. We can accommodate 7 volunteers with no more than 2 people sharing. The Cottage is equipped with uncapped Wi-Fi, DSTV and is serviced 7 days a week. Clothes are also washed, dried and folded on a daily basis. Each volunteer is provided with a lockable cupboard and all linen is provided.

    The Cottage has a spacious open-plan kitchen/lounge dining area which is fully equipped there is an undercover deck and private walled lawn. There are 3 x twin double bedrooms and 1 x single bedroom . The largest bedroom is en-suite with corner bath, basin and lavatory. There is a separate bathroom with shower, basin and lavatory across hallway from single bedroom. The additional 2 bedrooms both share another bathroom with Shower/bath, basin and lavatory.

    There is a large swimming pool on the property, horses, dogs and cats

    FOOD: We provide 3 healthy homestyle meals daily - organic grown veggies and ethically sourced meat, chicken, fish and eggs. Volunteers will help themselves for breakfast (cereals, fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, cheese) and lunch (rolls cold meats, cheese and salad) Dinner is prepared and is guaranteed to be delicious with the flavor on local cuisine!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is much to explore in the area, and we will provide transport to and from town during your time off. There is a local reliable taxi service available to. Plett's blue flag beaches are world class and the town is small with great eateries and entertaining night life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 981474523789