Help in rural England with dogs and horses


United Kingdom


Favourited 255 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description



    My current helper has to take an earlier flight home and now leaves already on Tuesday 25 June, and the new helper can't start until 1 July now, so looking for a last minute, short term workawayer from 25 June to 1 July 2019.

    I run a B&B in a small village near Cambridge. I am originally from Germany, but have lived in the UK for over 30 years. So I am bi-lingual German and English and also speak some French.

    Our guests are international, so you get the chance to meet people from all parts of the UK to the rest of the world, but you are not required to work in the B&B.

    I live here with my 3 dogs, 4 horses and 5 ducks, so there are various jobs in the garden and on the yard.

    The dogs enjoy their daily walks and lots of attention.

    The horses are Warmbloods (29, 21, 10 and a two year old). At the moment only one can be ridden and needs to gain fitness again. He is around 1.57m and is only hacked out. If you are an experienced rider, that's fine, but not required.

    So if you like an active outdoor life, we'd love to hear from you.

    I usually have one helper, but can accommodate a second helper. Ideally somebody with skills in gardening and maintenance, such as painting stables and minor repairs, so we can work as a team. Male or female is fine.

    Please no smokers / vapers, as nobody is allowed to smoke on the premises.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a German national, but have lived in the UK for 30 years. This means I am fully bilingual, and understand the issues that people face when living in another culture and improving their language skills. Trips to Ely, Cambridge, London and other places of interest are encouraged. There is an English Language Café in Ely twice a week, which is about 5 miles away, and a church in Cambridge offers free language classes. You will have the use of a bike, there is no public transport from the village. Ely has good train and bus connections. Further details will be propvided.

  • Help


    Helpers need to be confident to walk the dogs and look after the horses. There are always jobs in the garden or around the yard, such as mucking out, feeding, sweeping or painting the stables. Anybody who likes cooking for the two of us is a bonus. Non-smokers only. We only take one helper at a time, max of two if they belong together or if I have a second room available.
    Ideally helpers have some experience with looking after horses (live out in the summer), but anybody with practical skills who can be trained to muck out and feed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation


    Own area in mezzanine with bed, wardrobe, bedside cabinet, chest of drawers. Photos can be provided on request. Second helper in one of the other bedrooms or secong bed in mezzanine, if a couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Internet access and use of phone (within certain limits). 5 miles to nearest town. No public transport, but use of a bicycle and lifts into town for shopping, catching a train to Cambridge, London, the Norfolk coast or other places of interest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 954254352411