Beautiful safari camp near Mburo national park, Uganda

updated
Country

Uganda

Favourited 204 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    651

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️*️️*️️*️️ MARCH 2019 --- looking for a volunteer with a cooking background to help work with the kitchen to improve their dishes. *️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️


    Hello future workawayer. Looking for one traveller or a couple to assist in general going ons around the camp.

    It's a 2 yr old ever more popular campsite just outside the gate of mburo national park.

    There's 12 permanent staff, who are all very good workers and know what they have to do, so your role would be to just to rope in with whatever needs doing on any particular day, from painting, to wiring to chatting with guests to making furniture.

    It s a really cool opportunity to learn some random skills and enjoy the nature.

    Really open to what you as a volunteer can bring to the camp so the experience depends on your interest, we had a girl who was great at marketing so focused on that side, a guy who was brilliant at handy jobs so he did a lot of painting and sanding furniture- and helped me construct a swinging bed, most recent volunteer was really into yoga so offered it to guests, and also made some amazing signs for the property.

    Volunteer must be responsible, outgoing and enjoy meeting new people, and happy to spend their time in the middle of the Ugandan Bush. It's really special here and amazing spot for birding, nature walks, safari etc. Ideally volunteer could also drive as i'm currently the only staff member with license and we go to town to get supplies usually once a week.

    I prefer longer term volunteers as it means we can get some meaningful things done.

    What is a typical day?
    A typical day doesn't exist, I usually plan a big project for volunteers and some smaller ones too. currently we're building a vegetable garden which must be enclosed because of monkeys and baboons. Always painting to do, some sanding and varnishing, talking with guests is a big part, assisting me in my hectic shopping trips (I hate going to town), I love carpentry and make a lot of stuff with volunteers - sofas, swinging beds. Making hammocks from nylon rope.. the list is endless and too random to write all here.
    We also have a lot of fun - bike trips, walks, Gin and tonics while the sun goes down and chats around the campfire in the evening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about Ugandan culture especially the cattle herding ankole people,learn about birds, animals and nature in region, laid back environment. Lots of opportunity to learn some random skills, and happy for you to bring your skills and input to the project.

  • Help

    Help

    Its very hands on, and I've been learning a lot of random new skills such as wiring, carpentry. You're welcome to try your hand at making a table or bench or something. We have lots of materials.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For clients we offer camping, lazy camping, safari tents. You would be staying in a tent or in staff quarters. Your room /tent would be private and toilet shower facilities are shared. We provide 3 staff meals a day and if you wish, you can also eat guest food every now and again to vary diet, as staff eat beans, posho, rice, vegetables , maatoke and beef.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Biking, visit to local communities nature walks with animals, game drives,
    Functional transport system, can take trips to local town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 952215958256