Help us renovate this beautiful 15th century house in the medieval town of Sarlat, France

Country

France

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    483

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi !
    We are in the process of renovating a beautiful old house in the medieval town of Sarlat, one of Europe's best preserved towns, located in the Périgord Noir, land of foie gras and fortified castles. We are, Berenice and Raphaël a small family in our thirties with a incredible 3 y-o kid named Savinien speaking very well (and he likes to teach French too :-D). We are in a complete change of life and we'd like to share our dynamism !
    You will be accomodated in a (big) room that may be shared, or not, depending on the period and organizing, on the first floor of the house that is dedicated to workawayers with three rooms and two bathrooms, and a little quiet corner. We are now working on demolition, so work is more about lift and move things (sometimes heavy), and sometimes throw things one floor below ^_^

    We also need one person to cook for the whole team and family (7 persons) 5 days a week, 2 meals by day, for this position workawayers should have the driver's license.

    All meals are given, and for the week-end I cook fresh products, sometimes local, depending the season.
    On the weekends we generally do a little trip (castle / cavern / church / town visit etc...) on which everybody can come, of course!

    For more info, feel free to ask us !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    We are seeking help for all kinds of building works and for now, we are starting the demolition part, as there are a lot of plasterboards covering the old stone walls.

    We also need someone to cook for the whole team and family. 5 days a week, 2 meals a day. (driver's license needed)

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Perigord Noir is a region where you find many fortified castles, since it was the center of the one hundred year war. In the week-end we generally make at least one activity or visit (castles, old towns, etc...) We love this place as we love history, and would be happy to share about this. It is one of the most recognized regions of France for gastronomy, with foie gras, truffle, duck breast, etc... We can also help to learn french as well, and this probably could help us with our english :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, English, Espanol (un poquito)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We now live in a big house, and the first floor is dedicated to workawayers, with 3 big rooms and 2 bathrooms, and a little-calm-sofa-corner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a 3 years old kid, and a lovely cat !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5h per day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 946743455881