Computer-related help needed in beautiful Split, Croatia

Favourited 69 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Badges

Contact Register


  • Description


    Hi! We are a young couple (Shawn and Marina) currently living in the beautiful ancient city of Split, Croatia. Marina (25) is from Croatia and Shawn (34) is from Ireland. Shawn is an artist and Marina is currently studying to be a yoga teacher. In addition, we both have our online projects that we're working on as well. We both love to read and study and spend time outdoors whenever we can, which is quite often in Split as the weather is very good all year round. We have a lot of friends in Croatia and abroad and we often do things together with them, such as going hiking, sharing meals, going to concerts and enjoying nice coffees in the sunshine :)

    We're both warm and friendly, quite easygoing and respectful. We've both traveled around Europe (Marina Workawayed as well) so we have experience when it comes to living abroad and volunteering. We both love meeting new people and discovering new places and have had some amazing adventures while traveling, met some beautiful people, seen amazing places and really enjoyed our travels (individually and as a couple). Both of us are comfortable hosting people in our home and it is always great to have guests.

    We both have spiritual practices and disciplines that we pursue that include yoga, meditation, crystals, mindfulness and others. We try to live as balanced as possible in our everyday lives. We're both vegetarians and like to cook often but we have no problem with non-vegetarians. We are quite spiritual, but we're not fluffy - we both swear and smoke :P We try to live our lives from our hearts. We have a lot of fun, laugh a lot and are a bit silly really.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    We need help with our online businesses, primarily with Shawn's. He works as a mandala artist and sells his work on a large number of websites. He uploads the images he creates onto a large number of products such as mobile phone covers, mugs, posters, pillows etc. and sells them online. He started the online aspect of his work a few months ago and has a large backlog of images to upload as he has over 350 designs which need to be uploaded onto multiple products on multiple websites. There is a lot the needs to be done there so any help that he can get with it is very much appreciated. It is pretty straightforward which would primarily involve uploading and tagging images onto products. It is easy and can be done at any time of the day whenever suits you.

    20 hours a week would be required. Those hours are flexible depending on your plans for traveling, exploring the country etc. We'd like you to enjoy your stay with us and once we show you the nature of the work, you can do it easily without supervision and you're free to organize yourself in the way that suits you best. Of course, we'll be happy to answer any questions you might have about the help needed but you should have no problem understanding how to do it.

    It would be best if you had your own laptop so that you're mobile with the work (for example, you can go to a cafe with a beautiful sea view and do it from there if you wish) but if you don't, that's fine too - Marina has a laptop that she can lend you if necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Croatian, German, Portuguese, Croatian Sign Language; tiny bit of Irish

  • Accommodation


    We can offer you a large separate room in an apartment in Split, it's originally intended as a living room separate from the kitchen but we've been using it as a work room/sitting room. There's a large comfy couch and an air bed (1.4m wide), whichever you prefer. You'd have your own space. The kitchen and bathroom are shared with the two of us. There are two small balconies in the apartment as well; one looking onto a big beautiful hill right next to us. The location of the apartment is really good and it's warm, clean and cozy. It's in a beautiful part of the city, 10 min walking distance from the city center (shops, cafe's, stores and the 1700-year-old city core). It's also right below an aforementioned hill (Marjan hill), which you can climb and 3min away from the sea, beautiful beaches and lovely walks).

    The weather here is usually bright, sunny and warm all year round (we have around 300 sunny days a year); the climate is Mediterranean which means hot summers (up to 40-42 °C!) and mild winters (usually over 10 °C most of the winter; sometimes it gets a bit colder but never goes under 0 °C). The people are friendly, the food is really good, almost all of it being organic and home-grown and it's just a very nice place to be all together.

    As previously mentioned, the two of us are vegetarian which means that we buy and cook vegetarian food. That being said, you're more than welcome to cook whatever you'd like for yourself, we don't mind it, but you'll have to do it yourself as we don't really know how to cook non-vegetarian food. We usually have at least one cooked meal per day (lunch or dinner, depending on our schedules) but we try to eat relatively healthy in general (oats, fruits, nuts and seeds, salads...). Oh and we drink coffee. A lot of coffee. :D

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The help hours are flexible and easygoing; you can take days off whenever suits you depending on what you'd like to do and what you'd like to see while you're here. It's important that you enjoy your stay and not worry about working too hard and not having enough time to explore the many sights in the area.

    We'd be looking for one or two volunteers at a time, starting with mid-November 2016. We accept single travelers and couples (or friends) as well. We'd like you to have a good time staying with us and we're sure that we can learn a lot from you as well. We'd be happy to share our beautiful space with you and make some new friends :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Croatia is a beautiful country and Split is just an amazing city. It's 1700 years old, it's by the sea, has beautiful beaches, mountains... There's a lot of soul here. A lot of culture and tradition. The local food is amazing, the majority of it is home-grown, non GMO, very tasty and the traditional cuisine is very diverse and there is lots of it. It's a perfect holiday country (hence the hordes of tourists during summer months) with lots of sunshine and beautiful scenery. Split is one of the connection points for the rest of Croatia (you can go basically anywhere in the country from here) as well as for Bosnia or Serbia. It's the main connection point for the islands as well, with all boats for the southern shore going from Split.

    The two of us would be more than happy to share some history and traveling recommendations; depending on what interests you. We can teach you a lot about alternative therapies, healing and energy work. We've been studying different approaches to spirituality, both theoretically and practically, for years and we'd be happy to share what we know or answer some questions you might have.

    Due to the nature of Shawn's work as an artist, looking for a way of making a living while traveling, he would be happy to share his knowledge and experience using online tools to make this happen if that's something you'd be interested in.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Living room/your future room
Living room/your future room
View from the other balcony
Our room + small balcony
View from the kitchen balcony
Kitchen/dining room
Kitchen/dining room and a balcony
The old core of Split

Host ref number: 927329944515