Help us to renovate and stay in an old hotel and enjoy the local way of life in the heart of the Pyrenees, Ariege, Saurat, France,

updated
Country

France

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    918

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, here is Maël, and Valentine (my 8 years old daughter),
    I work by my own as a climbing and canyoning instructor. See my professionnal activities on escalade-canyon.com

    We live in an ancien hotel of 300m2, that I started to renovate by my own and with the help of friends and helpers 3 years ago, whith respect of the ancien style, and with cheap and ecological meanings.
    We now have 3 rooms completely finished, then the stay is comfortable, although in the midle of a big 'work in progress'

    The hotel is on the main place of the nice village of Saurat, and we enjoy everyday its friendly athmosphere
    Located in a really nice valley in the heart of 'Pyrénées ariégeoises' natural park, the place offers a lot possibilities for outdoor and mountain activities (hiking, climbing etc.....) that I like to share with friends and helpers.

    My project is to live here for years, during the renovation, which is a project definitely to be shared with many different people (staying, working on the renovation, enjoying the lifestyle together...). So I'm looking for people that want to learn (or at least participate) about renovation, but no special skills are required...

    My favorite moments are dedicated to music, climbing, visit friends and welcome people from other cultures...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sharing our easy going family all day life, and some visits at our friends.
    There are a lots of outdoor and mountain activities to do, and people living here are open to share it.

    come and climb with me, it's the perfect place for climbers!!!
    Free climbing courses if you're beginer,
    Play music! (I play gypsie jazz guitar) or sing...
    Cooking together, your secialties or mine...
    living our place in the charming valley of Saurat.
    Exchanging about renovating technics, convictions about ancien houses, respect of its story, choices of low environnent impact etc...
    Exchanging about life, cultures, the world!

  • Help

    Help

    lookig for help to renovate an 360m2 ancien hotel. electric, air, and plummer networks, plasters, painting, wood work, gardening, etc...

    My idea is to be with you during most part of working time, then we need someone more volunteer than experienced, although it would be welcome too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    français, English, and Maël has spanish basics

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Maël: for the moment, I just finished two comfortable rooms where to sleep in the ancien hotel project, and a tentatively bathroom/kitchen. so I can welcome 1 person or a couple, and I plan to soon be able to welcome more people (rooms in preparation...) in better and better conditions. During summertime, we can use more rooms that are clean but not equiped yet...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    lots of possibilities to enjoy outings, mountain, or visit sight seeing places
    I'll lent you climbing or canyoning gear if you go by your own

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week - 5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.











Host ref number: 918163568435