Help an unschooling family with anything you're good at! Köniz, Switzerland

updated
Country

Switzerland

Favourited 164 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    331

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update: At the moment we would love to host somebody who'd like to help us building a tree house!
    ----

    Do you know about your true potential?
    Are you aware of what makes you happy?
    Do you believe that joy and passion are important when it comes to learning?

    If yes is your answer to those three questions you should consider staying with us for a while!
    We're an unlearning/unschooling family.
    Our kids (8 and 11 yrs) stay at home and learn according to their needs and interest. We interchange with other home-schooling families. This means that once a week we have 6 to 10 kids (aged 8 to 14 yrs) at our home - the other mornings of the week our kids are at other families places to learn from and with each other.

    The kids love to play chess, create sth. on the sewing machine and/or do some woodwork, acrobatics, jumping on the trampoline, Aerial Silk, playing the the guitar, drums (only in the basement) and the piano on a very basic level... - if that's sth. you could share with them: great!
    I'm a trained secondary modern and grammar school teacher. In 2014 I quit my job to write a novel and now I'm a full time activist. My husband is a self employed sociologist.
    I'm the co-founder of a non-profit zero waste store, which you could have an insight, if that's what you're up to. Further I'm organising kind of an unschooling festival at the moment. It will take place in Berne in June and I'd happily take some help here (check out edu-camp.ch, there's a summary in French and English available).


    We are living on the edge of the forest in a big house with a big garden, 6 hens and rooster - yet it is just a 15' ride on the bus or train to the capital of Switzerland (it's Bern, not Zurich). I'd love to do more things by myself - from sewing to knitting to repairint stuff to planting veggies - if you could help here, that'd be great as well!


    We're leading an active and environmental conscious life and would like to have somebody in our house that does the same. We are vegetarians. We dispize any kind of fundamentalism.

    Healthy, biological food is important to us. We don't smoke and don't want any smoking (or other drugs) in or around the house. We are agnostic people, but are ok with religious minded folks, as long as they are not trying to impose their religion onto us. Equal gender rights are important to us.

    Your room is approx. 30 square metres, fully furbished in a modern way. The bathroom is shared with the kids.

    We travel a lot ourselves, have done WWOOFing and workaway and would love to give others the opportunity to travel the world without feeling like a tourist and to have such great experiences we ourselves were able to have.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot about home-schooling/unschooling and learning in general. You can get an insight on how to manage a family, how to maintain a house and a garden, how to keep chickens, how to encourage free thinking. You can learn German, Aerial Acrobatics, climbing, skiing and/or cross country skating if you want to and how to be an activist (if you not already are one yourself).

  • Help

    Help

    In general we ask you to share your passion and culture with us and foremost you're encouraged to work towards a relationship with our kids. Do things with the kids in either French or English, so that they can pick up the language. They are aged 8 and 11 years.
    Anything you are good at - show it to them!

    I won't write an exact plan with tasks for you, neither am I planing to track the hours you're working with us - I do expect self reliance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in our house or - if preferred - you can camp in the garden. The bathroom is shared with the kids (8 and 11 years).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    public transport nearby - city (Bern), mountains, rivers, lakes and: THE ALPS
    we can lend you a bicycle, cross-country skiing, ice-skating, Aerial-Hoop, Aerial Silk and/or skiing equipmnet
    absolutely NO SMOKING and no drugs in our house!
    We are Flexitarians but mostly eat vegetarian.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 915522697246