Help on a camp site in the Swedish mountains, Järpen, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 665 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    177

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Who we are:

    We are a Dutch family. May 2008 was the time to move from the crowded Holland to Kallsedet, Åre kommun. Only we four live in this little village. In the whole area (as big as the country Luxembourg) live 480 people. In our area (West Kallbygden 40 x 50km) are 20 persons living.
    We have also several cats, a dog (Wire-haired dachshund) chickens and ducks. Around us in the mountains and forest: Elk, reindeer, Lynx, Bear, Wolverine, Beaver etc etc.
    We own a fjällcenter (mountain centre) with a small campsite, cabins, hostel, grocery shop and a little restaurant in the Swedish mountains en nature.

    Summer season:
    The campsite and shop are open from the 1st of June (when to snow is gone) till the 1st of October. The shop and restaurant are open during summer season.
    The area offers a lot of activities: fishing, paddling, canoeing, hiking, hunting etc.

    In Autumn we mostly need people to take care of our animals, this is our time of the year to have holiday/meetings. Campsite is closed and we do not have much work, so if you are looking for the silence in the Swedish wilderness....this is the time of the year.

    We live in the middle of the overwhelming nature. The most nearby ´big´ village (Järpen) is 70km. The Norwegian border is 40km.
    Many of our (summer)guests come from Sweden, but more and more foreigners discover also this beautiful place.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the middle of the unspoiled mountain nature with reindeers and other wild animals and home to the Sami people with their reindeers. People are living here already for thousands of years and you will find marks everywhere.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping is, as far as we can describe it all:
    Cleaning, painting, cutting grass, tree/woodwork (chopping etc.), helping in the shop and all the other things which will cross our mind or/and path...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, dutch, english, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own 2-Bed room in the main camping building.
    Ev. sharing with other volunteers.
    Some money for your food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As written: we live in the middle of the Swedish nature, far away from bigger villages. The biggest city in Jämtland is Östersund, 150km (50.000 inhabitants), here you will find the hospital, university, shopping mall, small but nice citycenter, etc.
    The most nearby ´bigger´ village is Järpen, 70km (1500 inhabitants), here you will find the doctor, dentist, bank, shops etc.

    From the campsite, you can take the bus to Järpen (1 hour) and Östersund (3 hours)
    Bus depart early in the morning and return late in the afternoon at the campsite.
    In holiday-times the bus will only drive on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    Railway station is in Järpen (69km) or Verdal (Norway, 100km: note, no bus connection from Verdal to Kallsedet!).
    Airport with good connections is Vaernes/Trondheim (TRD) Norway, 160km, or Åre-Östersund airport (OSD)150km.

    We have a special volunteer insurance for the moments when you ´work´ for us, a normal travel insurance is however always necessary!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 14 hours/week

With the Sami people in the mountains nearby Kallsedet
Picture By Jolanda Linschooten, hiking with her husband and dog in the mountains nearby Kallsedet.
From above (500m)
Skyview winter
Sunset in May
Campsite
Northern Lights over our Fjällcenter, 2 lucky workawayers also on the picture :)
On top of the Suljätten
Walking in the Skäckerfjäll
As life should be :)
Moose
Making fire on the campsite
Skäckerfjäll
Winter, Snowmobile/ski trail nearby our Fjällcenter














Host ref number: 895694449367