Help at home on the Central Coast of California

Country

United States

Favourited 697 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on the Central coast of California, halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles. I am an experienced teacher who can help develop your English skills. My youngest son, Sean, lives here too. He's 21 years old and works and goes to college. I appreciate learning about people from all over the world and look forward to the world coming to me through this program. I also house student interns from I enjoy cooking interesting and healthy meals and enjoy sampling the cuisines of my guests, I love absorbing Hawaiian music, culture, and language, as well as many others! I am very interested in learning about other cultures, lifestyles, traditions, languages and parts of the world. Sean is interested in art, music, gardening, and Japanese language and culture.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help maintaining the backyard, and completing the planning and construction of a vegetable garden. It was beautifully remodeled by my wonderful Workaway crew threr ummers ago. We would like help designing and constructing a fountain or other water feature, so knowledge of electrical/plumbing would be great. We would love help constructing a pizza oven in the backyard. We also need help with some minor painting, window cleaning, help organizing the garage and sorting items to donate or sell on Craigslist. Help preparing meals and/or cleaning up. Light housework (sweeping, dusting, vacuuming.). Mostly we are looking forward to the cultural exchange and showing off our beautiful corner of the world!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, some Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have one available bedroom in my large comfortable home. I have also had Workawayers "camp out " in the living room. Shared large bathroom with shower and tub. Well-equipped kitchen and well-stocked pantry. Family home on the Central Coast of California, in the city of Santa Maria. We enjoy beautiful weather here; mostly warm days, cool evenings in tne summer, but June weather can be overcast until early afternoon. Walking/Biking trails are very nearby. 20 minutes from Pismo Beach. 1 1/2 hours from Santa Barbara. We live in a two-story house, on quiet cul de sac. Internet access/ wi-fi, / use of a computer, TV, Hulu, Apple TV, Netflix.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No smokers please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-5 hours, depending on what is going on. Evenings and Sundays are playtime.







Host ref number: 891285234866