Come and enjoy the adventures in the Waitaki, South Island, NZ

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have recently bought a small vineyard in the Waitaki Valley, South Island, NZ which we are in the process of converting into a hazelnut orchard. We are looking for help with tasks around our home in Timaru during the week and then help in the orchard on the weekend.
    It will be pretty relaxed while in Timaru but with some hard work to be done on at the orchard. We have two young children, so work may include cooking, cleaning, entertaining the kids, mowing, planting, vine removal and fencing.
    Accommodation is in a warm sleepout (double bed) while in Timaru and sleeping in a tent at the orchard. We have a bus on the land with a fire that you will be welcome to keep warm in, in the evening & for eating meals with us.
    We are a fun young family who have travelled extensively ourselves.
    We are looking for someone how can fit into family life, is ok with a cat and is into the outdoors. We are an active family; running, biking and being in the outdoors.
    We like our helpers to stay the week with us in town, this will only include light duties and plenty of free time. And then come to the land in the weekend, working full days. We usual only have helpers stay a week with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to travel ourselves and the sharing of cultures is exciting. The Waitaki valley is a beautiful area of NZ that is hardly ever visited. Both Rob and I have extensive knowledge of the NZ outdoors and nature. We are happy to share our outdoors lifestyle with visitors to NZ.

  • Help

    Help

    Work may include cooking, cleaning, entertaining the kids at home and mowing, planting, vine removal, fencing at the land.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Maori

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In Timaru during the week - own warm sleepout with double bed. During the weekend on the land - a tent with plenty of warm bedding and a fire-heated bus to hang out with the family. 2019 will hopefully see a sauna-sleepout built for helpers (: (not yet...)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in town in the week and there is a bike to borrow or the local bus just down the road. You will have most of the day off in the week, but work hard over the weekend. We can transport one helper to the land in the weekends. Timaru has a little town, beautiful beach and nice bush walks less than an hour drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5hrs day, could be none or less in the week & then more in the weekend


Host ref number: 883398454333