Amelia y Kael - join our small, close family in Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/01/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    We are a small, close family; Amelia (33 years old) and my son Kael ( 7 years old), just the two of us :). Kael is a fun, loving and a full of energy boy. He's been growing up in the countryside and has always co-lived with other people ( in a flat or co-living, sharing the plot of land). We live in the countryside, in a mountainous area, about 2km from a village called Monachil, near Sierra Nevada, Spain. It takes about 20 minutes by car to get to the biggest city in the area, Granada, it's about 12 km away. We live on a plot of land of about 3000 square meters with quite a few almond trees, olive trees, walnut trees and other as well mi as a ecological vegetable garden. There are 5 distinct houses of different sizes, some built in a tradicional way and other are bio-construction projects. We have an adult dog, Manuel and 4 cats (Violeta, Yumeta, Rayo, Negri) which walk freely on the land ( we try not to let them in the house).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We need you to mostly look after Kael and play with him while I'm at work. I work as a social educator and in July and August I will be working with immigrants in a juvenile center. I need a responsible, fun-loving person who has the initiative and interest in spending time with Kael and making his summer holidays fun in a safe environment at all times.
    I work irregular shifts; some mornings, some afternoons and some nights and I will soon have my timetable and my work schedule sent so certainly, will be able to inform about my times and days of work well in advance. I will sometimes have some days off in a row so will spend that time with Kael. The working shifts will be agreed sdepending on my timetable and my availability. The total number of working hours will be between 80-100 a month. There may be times when Kael goes away with some friends/or family the work will then include help around the house, in the garden, painting, ect...

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're living in the countryside near Monachil, around 10 km away from Granada in a beautiful, montanous area. There is a community of young families co-living in harmony with local people. Monachil has a river which comes down from the Sierra Nevada mountain range, you can take a walk along the river following a range of routes, which cross a number of hanging bridges ( Los Cahorros) or take a cool bath in its natural pools , perfect for the hot Andalusian summer! The village itsaelf offers a range of cultural activities ( especially in the summer) festivals, markets and live music on the main square.
    It’s not very often you can mix rock climbing and skiing in the same spot, but rock climbing around Granada offers just that! With the Sierra Nevada Mountains rising to 3,500m above Granada this is a popular skiing resort. To the south of Granada there are several excellent sport climbing crags, most notably Los Cahorros, in Monachil Alfacar, From the autumn through to the spring these crags offers some excellent winter sun sport climbing, and then for a rest day or 2 go skiing from November to May. There are some easy climbing routes here the quality routes tend to be in the mid-grade range and higher.
    The Sierra Nevada National Park is a paradise for hikers, with an incredible range of scenery on offer. As you climb up from Granada, lush river valleys and pine forests give way to high mountains with spectacular views over the surrounding countryside and Granada. You can also climb to the top of the highest peak in the peninsula, Mulhacén, with an altitude of 3,482 m. from which you can see Africa.
    Monachil is only about 10 km away from Granada, possibly the most cosmopolitan and enchanting cities in Andalucia. Granada has an edge over other Andalucian cities. It's got everything one is looking for in a city but also an amazing historical site. The Alhambra citadel of Granada is one of the most famous buildings in Spain: a Moorish fortress with grand archways and delicate ornamental mosaics. The Alhambra, declared a World Heritage Site in 1984, is a palatial city near the Darro River. Its name comes from the colour of its walls (Al-Hamra in Arabic) which were made using the clay found locally, and the reddish tint this gave the bricks.
    The Albaicín is the old Arabic quarter located on the hill opposite the Alhambra. It is characterised by cobble stoned streets with white washed houses and there is also Sacromonte! Granada and particularily the Sacromonte quarter is known as one of the birth places of flamenco, and makes for an excellent place to see a performance. Many of Granada’s best flamenco tablaos are located in the old Roma gypsy district of Sacromonte up in the hills, high above the city. The majority of them are housed in historic cosy cave homes, some of which can be visited.
    Granada is only about 80 km away from the coast. The coast- Costa Tropical is the coastal area corresponding to the province of Granada, which receives this name due to the good weather with a mild average temperature throughout the year.

    Another characteristic of Costa Tropical is the unique cultivation of exotic fruits in Europe and sugar cane, a hallmark of Granada and which has been cultivated since ancient times.

    One of the main attractions of this area of ​​Granada is its beaches, places to rest and relax on a beach surrounded by nature where you can practice water sports such as diving, jet skiing, windsurfing and many other sports that are offered.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, basic English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll live in free standing, individual cottage ( bio-construction) which will be to your exclusive use. It's in a separate corner of the land, quite intimate and we'll be sharing the kitchen and the bathroom. We grow our own vegetables and buy ecological produce form local farmers, so as far as meals are concerned, you can eat with us the days when you're with Kael ( I'll leave the food prepared) and other days you will have to cook yourself but I'll do the shopping.
    We have internet coonection at home.
    Electricity comes from solar panels so the use of it is not indiscriminate, I'll explain more when you get here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 horas al día / 5 días a la semana

Host ref number: 871445562246