Skiers: Wood cutting and grounds maintenance in Colorado, USA

Favourited 42 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/07/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    I am 64 years old, a retired teacher, and French by birth. I live in a fairly large house, on a dirt road, a 10 minute-drive from town. Most people would enjoy the environment: there is wildlife around in the form of deer and elk, foxes and elusive mountain lions; but nothing else to do apart from being in nature! I have 7 acres of land/wood and never seem to be able to stay on top of it!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    I'd like my guest(s) to spend a week to 12 days.
    I live in the foothills of Colorado at an elevation of 8200 feet (2 400 meters). We have a long winter during which I burn a lot of wood. I need help to cut a few trees down, block them and bring all the logs and slash to the house. It's physical work; the property is steep. We could have lots of snow, or none; it could be very cold or quite nice. I have a chainsaw and a sled to haul the wood to the house.
    I would also need help to create an extension to my garden, which means pretty hard work digging through sod and rock, clearing the space and turning the soil over. Obviously, this could only be done if the ground is not frozen.
    The real attraction is that if you enjoy skiing and have your own car, I am anywhere from 45 minutes to 2 hours away from the slopes: Loveland is 45 minutes away; Breckenridge, Keystone and Copper about 80 minutes, and Vail 2 hours. Passes are not cheap, though. But there's also the mountains: snowshoeing, back country skiing...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    I speak French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a comfortable walk-in basement apartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would probably be more fun if the volunteer had his or her own means of transportation as I am 7 miles away from the town. Evergreen has a few bars and restaurants, and all the shops one needs, but it's too far to walk. Denver is 45 minutes away; the 14,000 feet mountains are about 1 hour away. There are lots of open space parks nearby, one being 5 minutes away from my house by car. I could definitely let the volunteer use my car to go to Evergreen for the evening, or I could give them a ride when they need one.
    My expectations are simple: 4 or 5 hours of work per day, and keep your living space clean! We'll have dinner together. I do want the volunteer to enjoy being here. I encourage people to use their creativity. No smoking inside.
    I have no T.V. and cell phone service is unreliable at the house. Internet works fine. Landline.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I was born and raised in France and would be happy to help a volunteer with his/her French. Having lived in Colorado for 30 years, I can share quite a bit of information on this part of the world. I can also teach to knit or crochet!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


View of the back of the house.
One of the wood piles that needs to be moved and split.
On my deck.
From my kitchen window... a regular sighting.

Feedback




Host ref number: 842214661567