Animal-loving, flexible and non-smoking FEMALE volunteer Dog- and Housesitter - 30min from Zurich, Switzerland



Favourited 445 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Currently looking for House/Dogsitters 20th of May - 06th of June 2019 *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hello, Hola, Hallo, Salut, Ciao, Geia sou, Olà!

    My name is Alessandra, I am 30 years old and I live with my dog Marley. He is a male chihuahua, 6 years old and quite active and playful.

    I am part Swiss and part Greek, I have been raised bilingual and therefore I have a love of languages and cultures. I love travelling and to interact with open-minded travellers, thats why I decided to be a part of Workaway.

    I recently quit my 2 jobs in Switzerland and am currently trying to figure out how to travel longterm. At this point I am not sure whether I will be around during your stay or travelling. Most definitely I will be travelling though lol. I am mainly looking for very individual travellers who feel okay with staying at my appartment as a house- and dogsitter while Im gone. We ideally have 2-3 days where we get to know each other and I can explain everything to you. However, I am always available for tips on what to do or even asking friends to come over to spend some time with you or show you around town.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I believe that from everyone that crosses my path in life I learn something. If you share this idea, you will definitely benefit from staying with me. I love to exchange stories, views of life as well as any other knowledge.
    Other than that you will spend a good time here with easy work, an open-minded host and an adorable pet!

  • Help


    Your main task is dogsitting Marley and maintaining/cleaning the appartment. I am looking for someone who is already experienced with dogs (at least a little bit, so you are not scared when he barks).
    Its not essential that you own a dog yourself but its definitely a huge benefit for all of us when you know about animals body language and behaviour.
    The walking-schedule is: Morning walk 1hr Lunchtime-walk: 15mins Evening walk: 15mins

    For the remaining time your help is appreciated in cleaning, gardening, painting, maybe some exercise, language practice etc.
    I am very flexible regarding duties and schedules, and in return I ask for your flexibility as well. I would suggest we make a weekly plan and use this as a base which can be adjusted flexibly -> Communication is Key!
    If you have any other skills that you think I could benefit from, such as Tai Chi, yoga skills etc. please offer them to me, I am very open minded and eager to learn!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Greek, some French and some Italian

  • Accommodation


    You have your own bedroom. We share the other areas in my flat (kitchen, living room, bathroom with bathtub, small terrace). Please note that due to the very light workload I do not provide food other than rice, pasta and kitchen basics like salt, oil and spices.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Generally, I am an outgoing person. I love to socialise, meet new people, go on adventures, telling stories....
    I also learned to enjoy the silence, whether it is alone or in company. I believe that there is nothing wrong with just cuddling yourself up with a good book or your favourite music and a hot cup of tea or - even better - chocolate. Especially now that the days are cold and short here in Switzerland. I enjoy and need some alone-time to reflect on the day but I definitely enjoy cooking and eating together :)

    The most important thing for a stressless "Workaway" in my opinion is communication. With honesty and respect towards each other I am sure we will have a great time together. Whatever we do, we ideally make it out of self-motivation. Therefore I harmony best with independent individuals who look around and see what they can contribute (e.g. if you see the floors are dirty, or the garbage bin is full, you take care of it)

    I am really thankful for and expect that you actively offer your help because I have a lot of things on my mind and dont want to be like a Mom running after her child and telling you what to do....

    I describe myself as a very understanding and helpful person. So if you're having a bad day, just let me know and we can talk about it or adjust the plan. Please note that I don't enjoy making rules, I expect that everyone treats the other and his belongings the way he likes to be treated. However, after a few experiences with volunteers I had to make some rules which I will tell you upon arrival or request.

    Public Transportation is very reliable here in Switzerland. It isn't the cheapest, but its fast, safe and generally on time. The bus station is in 2mins walking distance, the train station is 20mins walking distance or 5-10mins by bus. There is a Ruine in Baden, a historical Museum, a nice Riverside, shops, cafes, an irish pub, a famous Casino and so on.

    To plan your trip here I suggest you use or Google Maps. The ticket from Zurich to my place is CHF 13.60 one-way (which is around EUR 11.00 and USD 14.00)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

The Yoga Dog aka Marley in his fave position
The Prince... or shall I say King?
When I was off for my first solo travel adventure
Other perspective of the Guest-Room
The Guest-Room
the forest is just around the corner too
a little "Dolce far niente" is a must ;)
raw & unconditional love
this tiny lake is in just 5mins walking distance from home
my favourite spot to walk Marley (here pictured in winter)
Marley & Me

Host ref number: 839331337664