Live in Georgia for free and help with a wide array of research and development projects

updated
Country

Georgia

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    08/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    858

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    So my plans have changed, by early spring I will probably be back in the USA and stay there for a year or few years.

    As such, I don't need a lot of help with a lot of interesting activities. However, if you are interested to come to Georgia, I am still interested to have help with cooking, cleaning, and web development (PHP / JavaScript programmers, HTML/CSS writers, maybe a graphic designer). So if you are able and happy to do any of those, don't be shy to contact me! As or everyone else, looking for more interesting opportunities, maybe try back in about 8 months if you are interested in volunteering in the USA next year.

    So in summary, I would be happy to have help with:

    Cooking,
    Cleaning / housework,
    Web programming (PHP, JavaScript),
    Web markup (HTML, CSS),
    Graphic Design.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Ongoing tasks:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Preparing meals, this is a two meal a day household, and I have 0 problems with eating leftovers, so cooking one day to eat for 3 days is fine with me.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ General cleaning of floors and walls in the home.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ There are basic house chores always to be done, cleaning, cooking, laundry (nobody will be required to do anyone else's laundry, but voluntary service, or swapping of chores between parties is both permitted and encouraged).
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️ making homemade soap from oil and "lye" or "potash".
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ There's always plenty of computer work for those who have the requisite skills.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ There's always trash to be collected and properly disposed of all around the community.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Certainly one could improve their command of the English language, if they are not fluent or native speakers already.

    A person could potentially learn a lot of new skills, and practical life perspectives being here. However I try to do everything in the most natural way possible, which often means you need to spend a lot of time with repetitive but purposeful tasks, so if you come for a short stay, I don't know what you will take away from the experience, except maybe a few new ideas and perspectives.

    People who stay long-term could learn about soap making, programming, clothes making or quilting (if I manage get a working sewing machine, which I would happily do if there is interest and commitment from a workawayer, I do myself have experience with sewing and making clothes and quilts, but I don't have time to pursue such activities currently).

    I'm a researcher with limitless interests, so there is really potential to learn about all kinds of things, but it would require patience, because I am not making discoveries or breakthroughs every day, in fact I don't even have time to research or work on my projects every day or every week. many weeks I am doing common domestic chores, or work for clients that helps to bankroll my voluntary projects and research and development.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Romanian, limited Ukrainian, limited Bulgarian, limited Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently I am living on the 4th floor in a flat in Akhaltsikhe (home of Rabbati Castle). I have 3 bedrooms (my own, and two extras) a large living room, and a fairly spacious and comfortable kitchen. I don't have private rooms for lots of volunteers, so I can either take a few people at a time who want/need their privacy, or I can take several people who don't mind sharing a room with a roommate or two. If you contact me, please mention whether or not you are able / happy to share a room with another workawayer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You free time is your own, but as long as you are on my property you will be expected to respect certain rules and standards as well as the rights and privileges of others, this includes the right to have their ears free of noise pollution. Music to one person may be a terror to the ears of another, please come prepared to use headphones for any media consumption you may do during your stay.

    This is a vegan home, so you should not come here if you need to consume animal products every day. I don't really care if my guests or volunteers go out and eat meat or dairy at some restaurant or a friends place, but I don't want it here in my home, or cooked in my pots, or served on my plates, or eaten with my flatware. It's also an alcohol-free zone. If you enjoy the occasional glass of wine (or even beer) with a meal while out, but never get drunk or even noticeably affected, that probably won't be a problem, however you should not bring alcohol into my home or within the boundaries of my property, and you should not come home drunk or tipsy or smelling strongly of alcohol or smoke or anything else, unless you were helping to save the life of a some drunkard and it rubbed off, and you plan to go straight to the shower to clean up and run the laundry on the clothes.

    I have high cleanliness standards and a keen sense of smell, so showers, laundering dirty clothes, and cleaning floors and walls and all surfaces in the home on a regular basis is a necessity, as I prefer my helpers be healthy, happy and as odor-free as possible.

    I am near the edge of town, but still somehow within the boundaries. The nearest street to my block is rather busy, and though I have no idea about local buses and their schedules, I would guess that you could get around that way, and without walking to far. Nevertheless, the town itself is not so big, you could spend a day walking and see every side of Akhaltsikhe. You could walk to the castle from my flat in probably an hour or less depending on your walking speed, and the castle (or fortress) is practically on the opposite side of town from where I am living. You can bring or buy a bicycle, I have a locked garage by my block where you could keep it, or if that's too inconvenient, you could tie it up outside if you feel safe doing that. If I have only one or two guests that I get along very well with, and you have a license and have earned my trust, I would likely allow you to use my car at times during your stay for various purposes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album


Host ref number: 822569678674