Family Homestay, we need some help on our land in the Mangahauini Valley of Tokomaru Bay

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2017

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    As a 60 year old Maori woman I spend most of my time just enjoying what life has to offer. I am a weaver of sorts and like to work in many mixed media areas. My main focus in general is looking after my 70 year old husband. He is Maori and was brought up on the coast and has extensive knowledge of the this area and the coast in general, he is a fluent speaker of the Maori language and still tutors today. So there is a fountain of information that can be tapped if so desired.
    We live in the Mangahauini Valley of Tokomaru Bay which means we are surrounded by hills and farmland with a 5 minute drive to the sea or a 10 minute walk, being in the valley is a very quite and peaceful. We are Pool and Dart members of the Tavern and Rugby Club so enjoy the social events that occur during the year. We have four Marae in our community which sees us attending/working for on various occasions re: Birthdays, Deaths etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We really need someone who is physically fit and able to use a chain saw when cutting trees for firewood, an axe for splitting wood. this work is about stock piling for the winter. A knowledge of pruning fruit trees would be a great help as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Maori and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide free camping this option has been used a lot in the past, it allows for complete freedom of being able to come and go, do as one wants and still share in family meals and use of bathroom/toilet facilities etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The coast is known for its beaches, surfing, diving. horse riding etc. We have friends who own a boat so there is opportunities for fishing trips, picking up crayfish pots and just having a great time out at sea. The opportunities for learning about the local history and its language is available.
    Tokomaru Bay is 1 - 2 hours up the coast from Gisborne.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day

This is Tokomaru Bay
This is the front of the house where the gazebo is. It is under this gazebo that the tent in the photo shown here is situated. It provides a warm and sheltered space from the elements. A table was at the other end of the tent where we enjoyed social interaction re: meals/drinks
This is our view of our Mountain Maunga Marotiri
This is the back view of our home
This is the Tokomaru Bay Wharf found at the end of the Bay. This area is called Waima.
This was New Years 2013 when we had an English couple come and stay for 2 weeks. They opted to pitch their tent outside where they had complete freedom to do as they wanted but shared in the daily meals with us.
This is the Tolaga Bay Wharf found just before Tokomau Bay

Host ref number: 782299974296