Revival of our off grid finca near Benissa, Costa Blanca area.

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    10/10/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update June 2018:
    Lots of work was done, clearing out part of the plot and improving installation. Now we have two caravans as accomodation for guests. To our "family" belong now three cats and a flock of chicken. So more daily routine jobs have to be done. Preparation for the gardening season starting in October are in progress.

    Update April 2018:
    Solar powered electricity is installed and working. Water supply is limited (because the expected rain did not come) however we can offer hot and cold water now. The same with (limited) internet - we are online now.

    Update January 2018:
    We have to live in our finca. At the moment no electricity, no internet and one tap with cold water. Hope we can change this situation until march.

    OUR PROJECT:
    Our small off grid farm in the backyards of the Costa Blanca needs help. We already lived here before and now after 12 years absence we just started to re-cultivate our farm and to refurbish the house. We are a couple, Brigitte 55 and Christoph 66 and live together with one horse and one dog. We own a bit more than 1 hectare, at present overgrown with pine trees and thorny shrubs, without regular water and electricity.

    Our project is to establish permaculture for self-sufficiency and provide a place for people seeking help in personal growth, natural therapies, meditational retreat and more. Our vision is to create a special yet simple "island" in nature where people are free to find themselves.

    We want to open our house to share it with like-minded people so we all can grow and learn. It is great to get to know people, to share ideas and have inspiring discussions. We are interested in sustainability, healthy food, healthy mind, art and different ways of living. We love to make our own bread and to grow our own vegetables. To us life is more enjoyable when working and having nice meals together.

    Our finca is secluded surrounded by wilderness, around 2 km away from the lovely village we can see. The next neighbor is about 800 meters away. The plot is terraced and to drive up here could be a challenge sometimes. We live in a wonderful area for walks in the mountains; the beach is about 45 min drive away, Valencia and Alicante 100km.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    First a proper yet simple accommodation in the existing house and the animals is needed etc.

    Building in and at the house and stables, clearing out the plot, establish a water and irrigation system, building water catchment areas, designing the permaculture again, trimming olive trees, building small bio-constructions, outdoor kitchen, shower and compost-toilet, maintain stone walls of terraces, build a wind and solar power system and some more things. Using recycled material is one priority.

    You are welcome to add your ideas, knowledge and experiences to ours. We know and can teach you a lot but not everything, and we hope that you will share your knowledge with us.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is not all about work, it is about putting together ideas, creating plans and generally feeling that the place is 'ours'. There will be no outright instructions but guidance and creating together.

    The area has a lot of history and the valley consists of many small villages which want to be discovered. We can show you some pre-historic sites as well as we can do stunning walks into steep barrancos (dry river beds), carved into the limestone.

    Your learning opportunities? Just dive into this area, into a simple life and soak in all those information you can use. We hope we can teach you few things and techniques, give you some hints how to improve your life (if you want) and we are hoping to get some ideas from you. You have the chance to leave your footprint on this lovely piece of land!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German (native), English (fluent), Spanish (needs some improvements)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As we have moved into our finca a caravan with two beds is available. So simple conditions refering to electricity, internet and water!!!!!

    We share the work and so we share the meals. Vegetarian meals are possible if needed. We eat some meat and fish but not so often. We are non-smokers however you may smoke outside the house. Sometimes we enjoy the local wine and you are welcome to join our lives. Limited WIFI is here, however no TV.

    We appreciate if you can stay at least two weeks as getting to know you takes us and especially the animals some days ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In exchange for food and accommodation, we expect you to help us in the house/garden 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We do not have a fixed timetable.

    We live in a secluded and very quiet rural place in the 'middle of nowhere' - so parties and discos are not around the corner ;-).
    You should be able to cope with this situation, as you will have much time without the noises of a town. Our place is ideal for sitting out in the sun or in the shade of a tree to read, to meditate or just relax!

    The nearest village is 2km away and we can lend you our bike. Climbing/ hiking routes are available from the house or close-by. To reach the beach or the bigger cities you have to use public transport (we will bring you to the bus stop). You are welcome to accompany us for shopping, trips nd other activities.

    Access: we will pick you up at the airport in Valencia or Alicante or at any train or bus stop near us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album





Host ref number: 777736258185