Live in a treehouse and help with gardening, building, making wild teas and around the house near Prince George, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 134 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome! We speak fluent English and German! We are looking for someone to live in our treehouse cabin and to help us with building/gardening projects as well as picking teas and herbs. We live on a 6 acre rural property just outside Prince George BC- a town you need to pass through to get to Alaska and the Yukon. We live outside of town where the air is fresh, and it’s just a short walk to two lakes. We are a family of 5, with children ages 10-15. We also live with two elder parents who help us around the property. We have 2 dogs and 2 cats, (please be aware if you have allergies) and there are pescetarian/vegetarian options available for meals. Preference will be given to German speaking workawayers. Non-smoking only please. 2 workaways will be accepted if they are traveling partners/friends/spouses. You have the treehouse to yourself.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come practice your English! Holly is an Elementary school teacher, and Daniel is a native German speaker. Walk the land with us and learn how to harvest wild plants for food, medicines, and teas. Learn the basics of gardening in a difficult northern climate, and come see how a tree house cabin, chicken coop, fence, and loft styled shed were all built using wood from our own land. We will be building more this summer and we welcome you to learn how to be super innovated and resource friendly. We are constantly looking for new ways to transform farm waste into 2nd generation materials and resources to lessen our impact on the land.
    Learn to kayak and fish, (non- resident license required), and join us on local hikes. We also offer training with basic power tools and can teach you to use a chainsaw safely. If you are keen to learn new skills we are willing to show you! We are also a musical and artistic family and would love to learn about your talents as well!

  • Help

    Help

    We will need help with yard maintenance, harvesting wild teas and berries and general help/cleaning around the house. We also manage a garlic and garden crop and will need help with watering/weeding/harvesting. No experience in the garden is required- we will teach you. Depending on the season and the availability, we will also teach you to sustainably harvest wild plants for food and medicinal teas. Depending on the projects available, you may be asked to help prep meals. Basic housework will be included during the week as it gets busy trying to keep up with everything! Help will be needed about 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. That being said we are super flexible with our hours/days and might work a longer day so we can take you out to explore/hike the next day if you wish. As a head's up, workaway tasks are unpaid as they support daily family living. In exchange we are offering you a safe place to land while you explore the area and a chance to connect and learn from us. Instructions will be in German/English and we work along side you as we have holidays during this period.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in privately set 8x12 tree house cabin at the back of our property. Heat is provided by a wood stove and there is power to the cabin. There are two separate lofts- one sleeps two, the other sleeps 1 but we only accept 1 guest at a time. Please contact us directly if you have a traveling partner as sometimes we are willing to accept 2 guests traveling together.There is an outdoor toilet and you will have full access to our large family home for cooking, laundering/showering/wifi and just hanging out. Depending on the fire season, campfires are permitted and encouraged! Both the tree house cabin and the house are non-smoking and we do not accept smoking guests. Bedding/towels are provided. Wi-Fi is available in the house. Breakfast and lunch times are pretty informal-you can get up when you like, and we offer a sit-down family dinner each evening if you wish. Everyone helps with the basic prep of dinner and clean-up of dishes. We will try to be flexible for various diets. Please note, steps to the tree house are very steep, and are not suitable for someone with physical limitations.
    To access the lake you just walk across the road down a little path and we have two kayaks to offer guests. A second lake is a 10 min walk and offers sport fishing with no gas power boats allowed. We also have some older bikes available for your use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you will have access to the kayaks, fishing gear and an older bike. There are two nearby community beaches, a fishing dock, and local provincial parks to go hiking in. Our neighborhood is quiet and safe. We love hiking and being outdoors, so you may choose to join us on our excursions. We are both on holidays from July 1-Sept 7, so we can join you in exploring if you would like. We live 30 min from downtown Prince George, and there will be multiple opportunities to go to town during the week. If you like, we can help you rent a car. We are currently not loaning our car out to guests due to insurance complications, but there are multiple opportunities to go in to town and to be dropped off somewhere. We will pick up and drop off at the Prince George airport and other locations to help you arrive/depart.
    We are known as the Gateway city as we are the central city to pass through on your way to Alaska, the Yukon, as well as Haida Gwaii.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 754594478723