Help us with gardening, wall painting and some general repairs in Hennef, near Bonn, Germany and practice or learn the german language

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/08/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple aged 64 and 70 with a big nice garden. Our four children left home and so we have space enough to host a couple or two friends. The little town we live in, named Hennef (Sieg), is near to Cologne and Bonn. In our garden we like to grow a lot different vegetables, but we also like our flowers and (fruit) trees.

    In our spare time we like to work in our garden, where we grow everything organic. My husband is a hobby painter and I do voluntary work in schools helping children with troubles to learn reading and writing. Everyday we go for a walk in the nearby forest and try to be outside as often as possible. We also read a lot. We're interested in global politics and like to discuss and talk about everything. I mostly enjoy reading fiction, where my husband reads a lot of non-fiction books.
    We like to speak and improve our english. We would prefer people with english as mothertongue.


    We enjoy to cook and we often try new vegetarian recipes. Most of the meals we have here are vegetarian and of couse we'd be happy to host vegetarians.
    During summertime we make a lot of jam from fruits of our garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We need some help in our garden for example clear up weeds, digging the soil, cut finished blosseming, work in the kitchen garden.
    The work depends in the season.
    Our conservatory needs a new coat of paint . We want to renovate a large room- redecorate and paint the walls. So, if you like painting there'll be enough work .


    Hans Wilhelm likes to do woodwork (Arbeiten mit Holz) and has built some furnitures and a hut in the garden.
    He would like to share his knowledge as well as learning from a host. If you have experience in using electric tools for the work with timber your knowledge would be very wellcome .

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm teacher of german - so if you want to learn or improve the german langauage I could help you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Spanish (a little bit)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room available in our house, where one or two volunteers could stay. There'd be beds and heating possibilities and access to a bathroom. The volunteers are welcomef to join our daily family life.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a bus stop within a walking distance (five minutes), with which you can get to Cologne (35km) and Bonn (15km) quite easily. There are two supermarkets nearby.
    Interesting to visit in Hennef is the little town Blankenberg with a medieval background and an old castle ruin. All in all there are a lot of options to spend the day or even a couple of days in the surrounding.
    We'd like to show our guests some points of interest close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

The both of us making a break during a walk on the Siegsteig.
Favourite place in our garden to rest or just sit while drinking a cup of coffee.











Host ref number: 753976248248