Join us this summer working on our plot in the lovely green part of Flanders (Limburg), Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are An and Dries and the kids: Joke, Arke, Nelke and Bieke. We live in our temporary house on our building plot in Genk, Belgium.
    We have build a (temporary) natural roundwood timberframe house using all natural materials. Now we are doing the last finishing details on this. This includes making cupboards, plumming and organizing the place.
    This summer we hope to clear our plot from all the leftover building materials, mainly wood and earth. This way we can arrange our garden a bit and prepare the plot for the build of the final big house.

    Short history:
    In 2013 we sold most of our belongings, went travelling with our kids to see and volunteer at different natural building sites. Since 2015 we are designing and building our own temporary roundwood timberframe strawbale house. Now we are designing and preparing the building of our final timberframe strawbale house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience living at our plot with our family where we do our best to apply the theories about natural/ecological living in practice. You can gain experience in natural building. There is also enough time to have talks about all kind of things and not to forget, to experience the Belgian culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mainly looking for volunteers to help us splitting and stashing wood, shoveling sand and working in the garden. There is a lot of work to do. In combination with this you can also help in the household. This can include helping in the kitchen, helping or playing with the kids,...

    We are looking for workawayers that can work independent and with other volunteers. Normally we try to work together, side by side with the people who volunteer, but this is not always possible in the next months.

    You must have some affinity with natural building or natural gardening.
    You don't need special skills to come and help, having a good motivation and an eye for detail is more than enough. We can teach you the skills you need to do the jobs.

    The longer you stay and the more experience you get (or already have) the more specialized the jobs can be.

    keywords: sustainable building, ecobuilding, eco-building, natural building, earth plaster, straw, lime, roundwood, timberframe, craft, build, earthen floor, loam, clay

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, French, Spanish(Only Dries) and a little of German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we can only provide a tent and sleeping mattress or a place to pitch your own tent. There is a swimming pool (with big slide :-) ) nearby where you can go to swim and have a nice hot shower. We do have a very small natural swimming pool(1m²) just enough for a fast dip but generally it is mainly used in summer for temperature reasons :-)
    We provide mainly vegetarian, organic and a lot of the time even vegan food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the green (eastern) part of Flanders, there are some nice nature reservations and nice landscape.
    We are also close to the city of Genk that regularly has different events. There are nice forests, parks and national heritage sites, ... where you can go for walks if you want some relaxation.
    Genk has a train station and it is easy to get to using public transport.
    The public library is at walking distance and is a very nice place to be and has free wifi and tablets.
    Using the public transportation or hitch hiking you easily can get to multiple nice city's in the weekend to visit like Hasselt (15min) , Luik, Leuven (1h), Brussels(1:15h), Antwerp, ...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 731284997519