START NOW, Workaway in Mijas, Nr Malaga Costa del sol, Spain, in your own fantastic apartment.

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/10/2018

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update Sept 208

    help wanted, mainly jet-washing and painting, but probably other maintenance jobs




    Update 29/3/18

    Let down at the last minute, so we could do with some help a.s.a.p



    Update 18/3/18

    We are about to start ( late March 2018 ) converting a workshop in the grounds of our villa into a studio apartment, so again could do with some workaway help, starting in march and working for up to about a month.
    Any DIY skill would be very useful. You will have your own very comfortable apartment, internet and TV etc

    Couple or single workaway is fine

    Our villa is in Mijas, on the outskirts of Fuengirola, Nr Malaga, We are in a lovely location between the Mijas Pueblo Mountain and Fuengirola beach front.


    Hi

    Hope you are well.

    We have a villa between Fuengirola and Mijas Pueblo, Nr Malaga, Costa del Sol, Spain as seen in our profile below.
    We have bought an apartment in the center of Mijas Village ( 3 km from our villa ), that needs renovating, fitting kitchen, fitting bathroom, general repairs and decoration. We get the keys on the 4th of December 2017. Initially the accommodation would be at the villa, in a self-contained apartment, until such time at the apartment becomes habitable. If you are looking for a new placement, send us a message.
    Regards

    David and Martina



    4th December 2016 UPDATE

    We could use one or two workawayers for the next couple of weeks ( ish ), you will have your own apartment, internet and TV etc. The work is mainly digging, we need to dig out and clear rubbish from a service passage, so as to be able to install better drainage. Having your own apartment, we stock the kitchen with food, so you can cook whatever you want, when you want .
    The villa is in Mijas, on the outskirts of Fuengirola, Malaga



    OCTOBER 2016 UPDATE....
    You can see from the description below what happened in 2015/16, the refurbishment of the villa is complete.

    However there is still a job remaining:-
    In the annex building is a store room ( approx 7m x 7m ), it needs converting into a general workshop.
    It needs emptying, cleaning, lights and sockets installing, benches erecting, shelves and cupboards fitting etc etc.
    It is right next door to the new self contained two bedroom apartment, so the lucky workawayer(s) will have excellent accommodation. We don't cook for workawayers, but provide all the food, that you can cook for yourself in your apartment.
    So we are looking for a good all round DIY'er, a couple would be OK as there is always loads of cleaning to be done.

    Our experience of workawayer's, has generally been good ( some are now very good friends ), we have had the occasional ones that want the accommodation and the food and to do very little work, if you are one of those, please don't apply, as you will be told to leave very quickly.

    I guess there is 2,3 or maybe 4 weeks work, so drop us a message if this interests you.

    ORIGINAL DESCRIPTION:-
    This profile was written early 2015, you will see updates for May and July at the end.
    My self ( English ) and my partner ( Czech republic ), live in Fuengirola, nr Malaga, Spain.
    In a couple of weeks ( late January ) we get the keys to a bank repossessed villa we are buying, and it needs quite a lot of work.Starting late this month ( January ), I am an excellent DIYer, but am now over 60 and to much to do alone. So maybe there is a good DIYer out there that wants around 1 to 2 months work, some jobs to do are building a simple breeze block garage, pruning back a large tree, fitting a kitchen, repairs to a wooden lean to, general gardening and rubbish clearing, installing solar hot water panel, installing six aircon units, fitting new doors, refitting some bathrooms, the list goes on and on. I want some one that can both work with me and alone when required. In a nutshell a good DIY person that can think for himself. Accommodation for the first week (ish ) would probably be in our rented house ( guest room ) in Fuengirola town center, then when the villa becomes habitable ( electricity and water connected, and kitchen fitted ) then there is plenty of rooms at the villa. So we could take one or two volunteers.
    UPDATE:- 21/5/15, we have had some workawayers for the last 3 months and all has gone well, a couple of workers have now moved on, and we have space for another couple or single worker. The villa is now very comfortable, with all bedrooms ensuite, internet, live tv etc etc, we hope to have the pool full of water and the pool bar full of beer in the next month.
    So a lot of the work mentioned above is complete, but there are still jobs to be done, some decorating, gardening, painting the outside of the house, alterations and generally getting the place fully back to it's former glory.
    UPDATE:- 08/7/15, Lots more work completed, now the pool is full of lovely cool refreshing water, and the pool bar is up and running, main jobs remaining are:- Paint the entire outside of the villa white, build a car port, seed the lawn area's, modify and motorize drive gates, fit a kitchen, tiling, and many other small jobs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    gardening, building a car port, paining, tiling, kitchen fitting

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learn about the Spanish way of life in the traditional Mijas village or the cultural heritage of Malaga. learn about drainage and general property maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    See main description

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Spend some time in the sun, we are close to the beach in Fuengirola, and a short train ride to malaga

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album







Host ref number: 727486131474