Work at home mom in need of light help around the house, in Akureyri, Iceland

Country

Iceland

updated  

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    169

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a last minute room available until 16th of July.

    We are a family of 3-7 looking for someone to help me (the mom) around the house and stuff like that. I have five kids from a previous relationship but four of them live with their father. My 14 year old daughter is the only one that lives with me.
    We live at a small farm about 15-20 minutes outside of Akureyri (depends on how fast you drive). We have a big house and a huge yard with swings, seesaw and sandbox for the kids. We have a cat called Engifer, which translates into ginger root or just ginger in English and a dog called Lara (like Lara Croft). We also have 11 young chickens and my younger daughter (5 yo) insists on getting a duck but that's not likely to happen anytime soon.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a very open person and a good listener (and talker). I could teach you a bit about Iceland as well as teaching you skills like baking, light cooking, sewing and woodwork (if you don't know them). I like painting and drawing but I'm a beginner so I couldn't teach you that but I could sure try :)

  • Help

    Help

    I mostly need help with household chores, cooking, cleaning and stuff like that. Might also need some help tending to the garden, taking care of the few animals we have and some light maintenance (painting the walls, fixing the sandbox and flowerpots etc). My five kids (3, 5, 9, 10 and 14 years old) will spend 6 weeks with me this summer (2019) and it would be great having someone to help me with them... mostly the younger ones though since the older ones are pretty much self sufficient and don't need that much help. My older boys (9 and 10) speak good English and my oldest is fluent.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, understand a little bit Scandinavian and want to learn french and german.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom with a closet and internet access. Unless there are two coming together (friends or couples), then you would have to share the room.
    Lunch and dinner will be provided. Breakfast and snacks are available but not served, just help yourself :)
    We mostly eat cereal or oatmeal for breakfast and have bread or fruits for snacks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a skiing area in one of our mountains that are just above the town, museums, shopping mall and lots to see.
    The local bus is free and I could also drive you sometimes or you could borrow the car from time to time.
    We live about 22 km outside of Akureyri and 12 km from the nearest swimming pool but instead we have lots of hiking areas, river for "fishing" (not much fish in that particular river) and in late summer/early fall we have wild crow berries and blueberries very close to our home. There is also a small items museum is about 3 km away from our little farm.
    The land that the house stands on is often rented out for horse owners so we could have Icelandic horses just a few meters away from our home from time to time.
    The Christmas house is just 12 km away, so if you love Christmas then that is the place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 711249482829