Organic gardening and sheep care in Hungary

Country

Hungary

updated   Last minute

Favourited 217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Tired of busy hostels / large cities/ noise and stress? Our place is waiting for you:-)

    Our project is an ideal place for a couple. Dogs welcome.
    We look for help in organic gardening (weeding, watering, cutting grass in the recreational area, DIY task)
    Cutting firewood, and clearing in the forest is welcome - chainshaw-experience appreciated. General garden maintenance. In summer we foresee cleaning and painting a stable. Painting windows is also ahead of us.

    You receive a small apartment with bathroom and simple cooking facility, where you can cook a soup and main dish for yourself. We only cook together sometimes. There is a cool barbecue area, where you can make a nice dish - even in winter if you like. All kitchen facilities available for that. We provide clean bedlinens. Please only join our project if you read our profile to the end!!! Happy to answer any questions.

    We are looking to host helping hands on our small-scale sheep-farm and organic garden and help with feeding our traditional black sheeps. We have a herb-spiral, veggie garden and a few fruit trees. Our house and garden is located in the middle of a small village, close to the Hungarian town called Székesfehérvár: 20 minutes driving (hitchhiking) distance or 30 minutes train to a nice lake called Balaton.
    Lake Balaton is the biggest lake in Central Europe with plenty of entertaining opportunities, nice beaches, night life , beautiful nature, water sports: wind surfing, sailing.
    Our family has a garden, farm and forest. Our kids and families are here regulary to do tasks in and around the house. Happy to speak German and English. When hosting volunteers we have our family (mothers and fathers in theirs 40s and kids aged 9-19) around the house - speaking English and German. Helpers from the village - who do tasks time to time only speak Hungarian. If you have a language-problem, you can always call for translation-help.
    We are happy to host 2-4 volunteers at the same time. We will not always be with you, so you need to be an independent and responsible person. Our project is not suitable for you if you need company 24 hours/day.

    Accomodation: you can have a private room and private bathroom in the house.The garden is open for campers if you have your own van, tent and sleeping bag. Alternatively we can give a tent for 1 person.
    We have no wifi, if you need one, you have to arrange for yourself. It is a good connection. We have looots of English and German books - if you like reading. Cultural, historical activities and entertainment waits for you in a large town called Székesfehérvár -reachable by bus in 20 minutes. There you also find plenty of coffee-houses with good WIFI.

    We compost, recycle, and generally try to reduce waist. Our garden is organic.

    Our project is ideal for couples. We rarely have time to entertain you, but can suggest you awesome places to visit in your freetime. We travel a lot for our regular NGO job, if interested, there are places where possible to join.
    Most of the time you will need to cook for yourself (ingredients available of course for all day). We are happy to cook for you some days - including a tasty Hungarian Goulash:-) if you like:) In the summertime our garden provides a lot of fresh vegetables, herbs and fruits.
    Please note: it is a work-away project. The appartment we provide is not a hotel. It is used by volunteers, and we only see it ones a previous volunteer left. This meaning: you are welcome to arrive on the date - what we agree in advance. Not earlier.
    We are ready to provide what you need: if you are with kids - we provide toys, etc. But you also have to be ready to make the effort and make your stay comfortable.
    We like to share all informations in advance. Please share and ask everything what is important for you.
    Open for your questions and company. Hope to meet you one day:-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about organic (and partly permaculture) gardening, taking care of sheeps.
    You can learn how to make tasty jams (from apricot, cherries, etc): in June, July and August.
    You can gain experience in construction and building works, dry-stone walling and sustainable building
    We are happy to share experiences on sustainable living.
    We always try to have a group of internationals together, so you can learn from diverse experiences.
    You can learn to have peace by watching stars next to a campfire:-)
    You can learn how to handle lambing--season in wintertime: a good experience if you want to have ones your own farm !

  • Help

    Help

    We look for people interested in sheep care, farm stay and organic gardening in a traditional Hungarian village-house. We need you being self-motivated: finding and taking tasks on your own is best. It is great if you know a little about gardening, lambing or be very open and willing to learn it :-) On a farm you need to be fit and ready to be dirty.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Hungarian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your separate room for yourself. It is in a traditional farm house in the centre of the village, recently renovated. You have a bed, bedlinen, towels. Or you can take your sleeping bag. Simple cooking facility. Bathroom.
    Kids welcome. Dogs welcome: please share and exchange infos in advance.
    You can camp in the garden or park your van.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village has about 4500 inhabitants, our house and farm is just in the centre. There is an open-air museum next to the village- you can learn a lot about ancient Roman empire. A beautiful town called Székesfehérvár with plenty of concerts, festivals is in 20 minutes by public bus. Busses go regularly, very easy to go just for a concert, museum, sightseeing or cinema.

    Plenty of free time activities around: large towns with sightseeing opportunities, museum, sandy beaches, sailing and horse riding opportunities close-by. It is up to you to organise your time: if you like company - it is possible, but you can also spend time on your own.
    Public transport (bus stop) are in 6 minutes walking distance from the house. Busses go every 30 minutes. It is a beautiful neighbourhood, and also Budapest is available for day trips.

    Ask for more info:-) We will be happy to communicate and host you.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 665754963881