Smallholding in North East Bulgaria.

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    26/06/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Thank you for reading about us and our place. We moved here in April 2012, swapping hectic lives in the UK for a more natural pace of living, in a beautiful part of the world.




    Our main criteria for helpers is enthusiasm and a general willingness to 'muck in', those bringing laughs with them have gifts we will welcome


    We are a (mainly) organic small holding attempting to be self sufficient. We are growing our own fruit, veg and animal feed, preserving food by various methods, have lots of fruit trees.

    We currently have rabbits, chickens, geese, ducks and cats, with plans to get more sheep in 2017/18. Improvements to the animal housing is something we were striving to achieve

    Lomtsi is a beautiful village halfway between Popovo and Razgrad. Most of our neighbours are Bulgarian self sufficient farmers and everyone is really friendly and welcoming. There are beautiful walks all around the village and a couple of bars and shops.


    We are ex-helpers ourselves, during which time we learnt a lot and met some great friends. Having experienced the other side of the coin we offer to provide you with good wholesome evening meal (we rarely eat breakfast and lunch, with the emphasis being on the evening meal, breakfast and lunch materials are available though), the opportunity to join us on trips out, the use of our bicycles, internet access and most importantly - an enjoyable experience. We can pick you up from Popovo or Razgrad when you arrive.

    We still use a long drop toilet when working outside, but now have a fully functional kitchen, bathroom, and washing machine.

    It is really good fun and hopefully you will learn many life skills, mind you hopefully you can teach us a few also.

    We are native English speakers but Paul speaks some French and German. We are learning Bulgarian slowly.



    We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    We ask volunteers to give a 25 hours work per week, normally over 5 days, and help with meals and cleaning up. Work involves assistance with house renovations, planting/harvesting crops, helping in the garden, processing food, house and animal sitting if we go away.

    Specific jobs we have set for ourselves (and any helpers) in the short-term(ish) include:

    MAIN HOUSE: Insulating and plaster boarding ceilings; laying floors (T & G or tiles); painting walls.

    EXTENTION: Stain beams; install shiplap boarding to vaulted ceiling (plans changed and now nearly completed); build and install main kitchen (in progress); tile floor (DONE); decorate (towards end of year we anticipate).

    During 2017 we have decided not to start any more 'big' house projects concentrating instead on adding the finishing touches to those past projects which were completed to a stage that made our home liveable. These finishing touches still include some interesting ideas, such as using a Japanese technique for preparing wood to be used as external cladding and some beautiful but useful 'handrails' for the mezzanine area.

    Lower down the priority list is rebuilding the barn, which will involve taking down a kerpitch (adobe) wall and reconstructing it without its current slant, building 2 new internal walls and a new front wall (it was wooden) before roofing the whole area (this got moved up the list and is a current project, which we are tackling, slowly and in stages). We are planning on moving the garden further up the priority list this coming year and hope Tracey will be able to take time off from the building side to enjoy that part of our life. Unfortunately the garden has once again been put on back-burner, other than basic maintenance to ensure we have crops for eating and preserving

    At certain times of the year we would ideally like to host someone we are comfortable enough with to leave as caretaker in our home a few days at a time, this would require someone with excellent animal skills, responsible, mature and capable of showing initiative. Any helpers we do feel comfortable enough to leave in our home will not be asked to do additional jobs during this period, although we won't say no if you insist.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We are native English speakers but Paul speaks some French and German and Tracey speaks a little Russian. We are learning Bulgarian slowly.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in main house. All other facilities shared. We are unable to accommodate vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please when contacting us, list what and where you feel you can be of assistance and we will tailor our days to suit your talents and expertise....!!! It also assists us in making sure we have materials necessary on site.

    We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    max 25 hours per week

Photos


My Photo Album


This is our winter project, build a new back door and create a replacement ceiling/floor for the hallway.
Used the opportunity presented by a major fire to create a mezzanine with vaulted ceiling
View from the housse, spring 2012
Animal compound and fodder fields
Animal compound, house in background
Some of the rabbits
No rake? Make one.
Before we'd straightened all the vine supports.
Host ref number: 644195941216

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)


Neutral
(Neutral)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Good
(Good)


Good
(Good)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Very good
(Very good)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Good
(Good)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Good
(Good)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Very good
(Very good)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Very good
(Very good)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.