Eat Well, Work Hard, Live Beautifully in Massachusetts, USA

Favourited 149 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/10/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    909

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come help out on our lovely little farm in the fabulous town of Shelburne Falls in beautiful western Massachusetts, USA. We are Janice, artist and social worker and Michael, professor of English and American Studies at Fitchburg State University. We are both active and engaged people. We like to run, cook, write, garden, and create, among other things. Our small lovely farm has cats, dogs, goats and chickens and is set rurally but we are not too far from wonderful cultural activities. We are always chock full of new projects and creative ideas for beautifying our place and taking social and artistic action. If you love the land, good food, creative conversation, clear communication and the good life, come stay with us! (Must love dogs!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Hey There! Here at our Farm in western MA work will vary from day to day except for a few daily tasks such as animal chores (which may include goat milking), baking bread, and cooking or cleaning. Other help required can include raspberry picking, painting, transcription, computer help, organizing the attic, weeding our small kitchen garden and mowing (in summer), leaf removal (in fall) and shoveling (in winter). Currently we need some light building/construction help. As well, the goat barn and chicken coop get "mucked" every three month. Baby goats are born in spring and there will likely be extra jobs at this time. I also conduct a b&b here so will probably ask you to help with preparing rooms and possibly greeting guests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodations will vary depending on the season and if we have guests.

    In late Spring until early Fall your living quarters will be "rustic" but comfortable and -->beautiful. You will stay in a large bright outdoor structure with a big doorway and windows. It is located by the raspberry rows toward the back of our property, is very private and was dubbed by a previous workawayer, "The Raspberry Shed." It is important to know that we have only one bathroom in our house but you are welcome to it -OR- feel free to access "nature's bathroom." You can bath in the house and share meals with us too.

    During winter, you will stay in our house in any one of four spaces.

    I am a professional cook and love to feed people healthy, delicious food. This will include our farm fresh eggs and goat milk if you like. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the fabulous town of Shelburne Falls in beautiful western Massachusetts where open minded people and rural country living co-exist. You can swim, hike, ski, dance, practice yoga and hear live music all within 10-40 min of here. We are 35 minutes from Northampton, 45 min from Amherst, two hours east of Boston and New York City is four hours south. You can enjoy contra dancing one weekend and clubbing the next.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will love to have you and it is my hope that we will learn from one another! I can teach you some of the basics of canning, cheesemaking and bread baking as well as a thing or two about goat care and gardening. Michael plays the banjo pretty much every day so musicians are encouraged to apply! We have an active household and often have friends stopping by. In addition we rent spaces in our home so that brings in other new faces. Our housemate has created a beautiful Tulsi Rose garden of concentric circles where she creates community gatherings and sounding rituals so if you like that sort of thing you will be welcome to participate! If you are a Spanish speaker I will enjoy practicing with you and can help you with English if you like, no matter where you are from!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5

My Photo Album

This is the Raspberry Shed where you will be staying. It is located in the corner of our field and has a dirt/gravel floor. There are two fans and plenty of blankets.
In Spring: KIDS!
Home in Summer.
My work studio. Will you help me organize it?
The bathroom window.
Our kitchen table.
Fresh goat milk!
There is art everywhere in our home.
We might make jam.
Flower Power!
We live close to the beautiful town of Shelburne Falls!













Host ref number: 635978485569