Hotel and gardening tasks in a French old 18th century Farmhouse run as a Bed and Breakfast. Fresne-la-Mere, France

Favourited 1018 times

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    104  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/08/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four running a chambre d'hôtes in Normandy. The children are 16 and 13 years old and we live in the middle of a lovely French hamlet. The area is magnificent and we are constantly still surprised by how much Normandy has to offer. Easy travel to Paris close-by 2-3 hours by train and bus and 3 hours by car. We can collect you from Falaise our nearest town which is 6km away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people that are self-motivated and hard-working and who are considerate and generally helpful around the house when living with others.
    We have some ongoing projects as well as the day to day running and maintenance of the House and Gardens.The projects tend to be concentrated on much more in the off season months but can happen a little during the mid season
    We need to look after a small market garden during the summer months.
    During the summer we are usually very busy from April-September with the Bed and Breakfast. We are looking for people who are happy to clean the rooms and bathrooms, muck out the animals and look after the garden. There may be some project work as well.
    It is important that you are able to be friendly, chatty and professional with our guests.
    We speak French and our children are fluent in French but as a family we usually converse in French in the mornings and English for the rest of the day. Our guests are a mixture of French and English speaking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay across the courtyard from our flat and the guest house. There are two rooms with either a double bed or 2 single beds. You may be sharing a bedroom with one other workawayer of the same sex if you are travelling on your own.
    The two rooms share a bathroom with a shower and sink and a dry toilet and a small sitting room. There is also an outdoor normal toilet across the courtyard. If this room was for some reason not available you would have a room in our flat or in the bed and breakfast.
    You have wifi in the accommodation but you need to bring your own device. We do not provide use of a computer

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can borrow our bikes and if you want to explore further afield we can get you to the bus stop in Falaise which can take you to Caen. The area is famous for the D-day sites and cider and cheese. You also have the medieval history in Bayeux, Falaise and Caen. Some workawayers choose to hire a car for a weekend to explore which you can do from Caen or if you are 21 from Falaise at the supermarket l'eclerc.
    We would prefer a non-smoker or an extremely considerate outdoor smoker and we have some animals here such as a cat 2 goats 8 sheep 6 chickens a rabbit and some guinea pigs.
    We are more than happy to accept vegetarians, but we are not, so you may need to cook some of you own meals. We can't always accommodate dietary dislikes or vegans in our family meals so if you have a specific regime you will also need to be happy to cook dinners for yourself.
    When applying we ask that you send us a message explaining why you are attracted to our place and what you are looking to gain from the experience. Please make sure you have a photo on your profile. Please also confirm whether or not you have any dietary requirements and include the dates that you are looking for.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    25 hours a week

Photos


Pictures


Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Workaway bathroom
workaway sitting room
Falaise
Workaway Accommodation
Merlin the goat with Lily
Guest dining room
Guest Lounge
The view from our Courtyard

Feedback

























































Host ref number: 588222464d8b