Small Scenic Farm on the Banks of a Beautiful Water Dam, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    361

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! How are you?

    Hi. It's really nice of you to come by.

    My name's Daniel (43) and I am writing this on behalf of my sister Lina (45) & brother-in-law Mr. Roger (68).

    They run a beautiful small paradise property near the banks of a huge hydroelectric water dam plant neighboring the states of Rio de Janeiro & Sao Paulo in the Southeast region of Brazil.

    It's approximately 200 Km (2.5 hours by bus) South from the nearest international airport in the city of Rio de Janeiro, or some 400 Km North from the city of Sao Paulo one.

    The property is like a ranch.

    It's sort of like an island, as well. Well, one feels like it's an island 'cause the water dam can be seen from almost everywhere you go.

    I could not post the Google Maps picture for all to see. But there's an equivalent one down below for you to have an idea.

    The estate is large. I estimate it to be approximately 3 to 5 Km2. Anyhow, most of its grass lands are sublet to other local farmers to be used for pasture.

    The main house is on top of a hill overlooking the dam's lake and outback at the massive mountain ranges of Itatiaia to the West, a well-known hiking, climbing and wild park preservation site. Its highest peak is about 2.780 m.

    We have only a handful of neighbors distanced from approx. 2-5 Km, so peace & quiet is guaranteed. However, some of them are like family to us.

    There's a hotel and fishing club nearby and some people like to sail by from time to time.

    The place itself as peaceful as can be. Early mornings and late afternoons are a real bliss and perfect for gazing, practicing meditation, yoga, chanting, relaxing.

    Now, my sister has begun her small-scale organic farming project and it is going well but it needs improvement.

    We are simple and honest people living off the land and the resources at hand.

    We have 8 dogs, hen, ducks, a horse, frogs who visit at night, lamp flies, spiders, free birds, many of them, a pair of Tucano who visit often, and a Brazilian hawk, who also visits from time to time.

    Our "base camp" is my modest but comfortable flat.

    It's a street level flat of 2 rooms, live in & kitchen, office and external area. Here we got fast internet and wifi, cable TV, cable telephone and so son.

    From my place you could drive or bike around or take buses or Uber anywhere you'd like in the region.

    Internet connection at the ranch is quite limited. Lina uses whatsapp and Facebook messenger all the time.

    So, if you're not too geeky into tech and needy of internet all the time you'll do just fine.

    You'd find it that it's just perfect to sit down and relax, have a cup of tea and grab a book to read.

    We do have a dedicated mobile line for phone calls.

    However, grabbing an internet service signal is possible from either the city or Resende or Sao Jose do Barreiro.

    Please look for Itatiaia, Penedo, Visconde de Mauá, Ouro Preto, Paraty, etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We're not asking for an expert in permaculture to come and visit, but it certainly would come in handy and it'd be awesome if you had such the expertise or if you'd have prior organic farming knowledge and experience.

    But if you don't, that's fine, too. We could learn together from books and from the internet.

    We're also interested in small-scale beehive making and cultivation, or we're willing to learn about it at the very least.

    Small-scale berries and strawberries farming, too. We're interested in that.

    As for phase 1 we wish to gain knowledge and experience, and put it into real practice.

    We have a phase-2 in mind: renovate a second lodging, a small hut a few meters away from the main house.

    It's also possible to combine both phase-1 and phase-2, as well.

    We need new ideas, innovation and a hands-on approach.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The experience to share a Brazilian household in the Southeast region of Brazil.

    Get to know the region countryside, our people, folklore, tradition, music, food.

    Experience climbing the Pico do Itatiaia. Experience skydiving in Resende.

    Here you can practice Portuguese, take hiking trips, go fishing, go scuba diving in the weekend, ride a horse, take time out to meditate, go sightseeing around, do nothing, do everything, go partying, join a class, join a club, go have fun - I mean, there's a dozen more possible things to see, make, do and watch.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We all speak Portuguese. Dan speaks English, Spanish, Italian, a little Finnish (Suomi)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a modest room in the main house for one person or couple. It's modest but comfortable enough.

    We'll make great food and coffee, I mean, my sister will. And she rocks in the kitchen!

    The house has one main (hot) shower and toilet, an open summer shower for hot days, and a separate toilet for more privacy.

    There's a smaller hut about 1 Km from the main house. It's very humble but it has all the amenities a human being needs for her/his survival: a roof over the head and safety, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and toilet, a small porch with a great view, lots of green all around, peace and quiet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things you could possibly do in your free time:

    Do you like bonfire? Well, you can do it right on the banks of the lake overlooking the mountain ranges and at sunset.

    We haven't done it yet. I'd love to do it one day. Brazilian winter time, which is coming, would be perfect.

    Do you like fishing? You can do it.

    Do you like boating? You can try.

    Nature lover? You'll find it all: from waterfalls to mountain range climbing to bird watching.

    The region is surrounded by 3 stunning mountain ranges: to the East, the Serra da Bocaina, an oasis for nature lovers. To the South the Serra Fina Mountains, and to the West, the majestical Mountains of Itatiaia with its highest point at 2.680m.

    All within 1 hour driving distance from where you'll be staying.

    As you'll be able to see it from the enclosed map, you'll be 3 hours driving distance from the coast and if you're into scuba diving you won't wanna miss it.

    And there's more: Resende is home to South America's largest Army University and lots of attractions to see.

    Please Google up "Penedo-RJ & Visconde de Mauá-RJ" - two very cozy small cities for you to be delighted upon.

    Our main base will be Resende-RJ, and from there you'll be driven by car or taken by boat

    Depending where you come from, you'll arrive from either Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo.

    And of course, you'll be allowed a few days rest before leaving here

    This will be done at my place in the city.

    For your own comfort and privacy, we can only host one or two volunteers at a time for the time being.

    This is until we get the second smaller hut fixed.

    Helping hours are very flexible also due to our own schedules.

    My sister cooks wonderfully well and she loves it.

    You'll be welcomed and invited to cook as well, if you wish.

    Boarding and lodging is simple, but comfortable.

    I will give you as much information as possible and needed for your decision making and before your travel begins.

    Welcome here, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

    Love,

    Dan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours/day, 4-5 days/week

Host ref number: 582615465567