Help us on the Organic farm in a beautiful authentic Thai style house by the canal in Samut Sakorn

new host
Country

Thailand

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayers,

    I'm Soraya (age 29). We are a family of six, my parents, my sister, my aunt, my grandmother and me. We also have 2 friendly dogs and 8 friendly and not so friendly cats.

    We are running the coconut farm, small organic home grown vegetables and a café in Samut Sakorn province which is just next to Bangkok (approx. 45mins - 2 hours driving by car really depends on the traffic).

    Our coconut farm is already established so, not so much work about it. Mainly just harvesting the coconuts. And of course you can enjoy the fresh coconut water from the most well-known area to grow the coconut in Thailand.

    My mom and my aunt are enjoying to develop their organic vegetables and beautiful garden. Well, this part has a lot of work to be done, everything about farming and also some building, carpentry, decorating and painting. You will be able to learn a lot of Thai vegetables and herbs and how to grow it organically. Usually we will start the work in the farm early in the morning like 6.30am to 9.30am and again in the late afternoon depends on the weather because normally it is very hot during day time. Don't worry, in the morning, evening and night, the weather is very good.

    Me, my sister and also my parents are just starting the café. We open only on Sat-Sun and holidays. You can talk to the customers in the cafe for the cultural exchange as well. Or If you like to create, you may help us creating menu, decorations, pr and etc. This part is only an optional.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from the coconut things, organic farming and cafe that you will definitely learn about, personally, I really like to travel abroad. I have been to more than 30 countries so far. I'm fascinating about the different culture, sharing experiences and now I'm interested in Social Enterprise which would be my upcoming project.

    My family is also very open-minded. We would love to share our culture and your culture. One of the best culture of Thailand is food. My mom is an excellent cooker and expert in yoga. My sister is a Thai medical doctor, you can learn a lot from her including Thai massage. My father is retired but was in the cosmetics industry and interested in Buddhist and meditation which you can exchange with him in deep detail.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a Coconut Farm, Organic vegetables farm and a newly opened cafe. They are all in the same place and also the houses.

    In the coconut farm, there is only harvesting the coconut sometimes.

    In the organic vegetable farm, there are many works that we need your help. We will start early in the morning around 6.30am to 9.30 am to avoid the heat. and again in the late afternoon for a couple of hours.

    The works about farming that need to be helped are;
    grow the seed,
    prepare the soil,
    watering,
    planting,
    harvesting,
    cutting grass and tree,
    cleaning.

    Sometimes might have decorating, building, wooden work and iron work.

    For the cafe, we just run the soft opening and I'm working on it. We open the cafe only on Saturday, Sunday and holidays. So if you're staying on these days, you can help us by talking with the customers (cultural exchange) if you like. This part is an optional.

    By the way, you can share us your skill no matter what it is. Any creative ideas that might fun and useful, we can work it out together :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Thai, English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a beautiful authentic Thai style house with toilet and shower room which can fit in about 6 people. By the way, we plan to accept a group at a time so you can have the private housing.

    You might have bed or the mattress depends on the availability (there are one queen size bed and one single bed). The pillow and blanket are also provided.

    The bedroom has a fan (free to use) and an air-conditioner (extra charge $2 per night).

    The meals are included: breakfast, lunch and dinner. My mom is an excellent cooker! you can also ask for the vegetarian food. And if you would like to cook, that's also fine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is by the canal. We have a beautiful boat yard with rowboats and paddle boat. The evening is the best time to relax on the canal-side. you can chilling on the grass field by the canal or riding the boats. Nearby we have local markets and 7-11 that we can accommodate you by car sometimes or you can go by the motorcycle.

    Samut Sakorn province is next to Bangkok. You can come by train, bus or public van and we will pick you up at the station or the drop-off point.

    There are many nearby sight seeing such as the famous Damnoen Saduak floating market, Mae Klong railway market (the umbrella market), Ao Mahachai mangrove forest, Mahachai Fish market, Chalom pier and etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 573297341736