Come and help putting a 300 year old farm back in shape in Saint Symphorien de Mahun in north Ardèche, France

new host


Favourited 32 times

  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description



    After experiencing a corporate lifestyle in the U.S. Greg moved to Alaska, where he lived in the wilderness and later a Bush pilot for 15 years.

    Evelyne was born in France and lived ten years in Alaska where she met her husband Greg.

    Before coming to France, we lived on a sailboat in the Caribbean and then sailed it accross the altantic.

    We decided that agriculture would be an interesting way of life for us, raising goats and making cheese to sell in local markets.

    We have been renovating our 300 year old farm and house for 12 years now.

    We have a 9 year old son.

    We have accomplished a lot but there is still plenty to do.


    To profit most from the experience, you should appreciate living in a natural environment, interacting with animals, and away from other people.

    The air is very clean and fresh because we are at 860 meters of altitude and our farm is surrounded by forest. We are not technically considered a bio farm, however, we value and try to live by its principles.

    It is a physical lifestyle. It is advised to bring good strong boots. Having lived in the Alaskan bush for many years, we live rustically.

    Getting older, we often have more to do each day that we have time for. Things tend to get hectic sometimes.

    We have both travelled a lot in the past and enjoy meeting people from different countries and cultures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con animales

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities


    We are near the top of a small mountain ridge. The area is ideal for hiking or mountain biking. There is a « Gaulois » site further up from us with a fantastic panoramic view. You have a good chance to come accross « chevreuils » or « sangliers » and other wildlife while hiking.

    The village is 2 kms away and has a small café

    There is also a XII centurie roman church nearby.

    During the summer the village sometimes has evening activities

  • Help



    - rebuilding old stone walls
    - landscaping and renovating a small garden with flowers
    - taking daily care of vegetable garden
    - returning old pasture back to use
    - cutting and removing genêts (invading plant that overwhelms good pastures)
    - finishing renovation of our 300 year old house and helping to restore a second building of the same age
    -cutting and splitting wood for winter cooking and winter heat
    - mending and making new fences
    - helping to take goats to pastures and sometimes through the woods to eat.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English

  • Accommodation


    Tents in a small walled garden on level grass lawn. We have 2, 2 personnes tents with basic sleeping bags and mats available.

    Meals are normally simple. If you like to cook, help preparing meals is appreciated. We often have big meals with friends coming over when we make pizzas in our old stone owen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If traveling by public transportation, will we will be glad to pick guests up from a nearby town.

    Guests have the option to take a couple of days off, making up the time on other days. This way it is possible to travel a little farther away and experience the many interesting areas in Ardèche.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 539471161923