Help to run an eco-friendly retreat & inspiration center, Algarve, Portugal

Favourited 1504 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    78  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    15/12/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are 2 life long best friends of 41 years old (Robin and Ole), who´ve started this project to create a partly self-sustainable oasis along side the riverstream: "Ribeira de Odeceixe", both for private as well as business purposes.
    We are running an eco-friendly retreat & inspiration land, that is used for many purposes.

    It's all about (re-)connecting with nature, ecology and being for a big part, self-sustainable.
    We're situated 6 km from the beach and 3,4 km from Odeceixe. We have very specific things to do and we will request the help for longer periods and for specific tasks. Having skills in gardening/landscaping, hospitality or carpentry/building are very appreciated. Motivation and enthousiasm of course are essential.
    Our minimum stay is 3 weeks, maximum is 3 months.

    Unfortunately, we can not accept families and pet-animals, such as dogs.

    Our project is a combination of charming rural tourism with its beautiful, uniquely designed apartments and our bio-dynamic farm. Therefor work can be varied. Workwise we have 2 sectors:
    * One; is to help Ole, who's in charge of gardening/landscaping and animal care.
    * Two; is to help Bela (Ole's wife), who's in charge of the accommodations and the area around them, plus relating to clients.

    So helping Ole can be (depending on the season):
    -seeding/transplanting
    -preparing soil/planting beds
    -harvesting
    -weeding/pruning/maintainance of veggie and ornamental gardens
    -preparing coffee breaks and lunch breaks for our volunteers, to keep us fit and healthy.
    -building/repairing fences/animal shelters and other small structures
    -building up new gardens (physical work)
    -paving (idem dito)
    -feeding the animals and keeping their houses clean (chickens/ducks/cats/dogs/donkeys)
    -helping with collecting firewood.

    The tasks with Bela can be:
    -cleaning and preparing the accommodations for our guests as well as our volunteers
    -preparing and serving breakfast to clients
    -maintance of the ornamental gardens around the accommodations
    -also animal care (cleaning and feeding)
    -back-office work
    -processing of our garden harvest
    -attending guests
    -helping with guest-related events (workshops/retreats etc)
    *we find it important that when you work with our clients, that you'll be representable.
    (nothing too fancy, nothing too alternative)

    In some specific cases we also need people to help Robin, doing more specific carpenrty and building jobs.

    Although we love our monday to friday rhytm, working with tourists, animals and plants means that hours can also be in weekends. It all depends on when and where we'll need you. So flexibility is required.
    Hours done during the weekend will be compensated during the next week.

    Where will you stay and with who? And more things to know:
    -everyone will have his own private accommodation (a caravan or a room in the "base-camp" farm house).
    -you'll be sharing the facilities (shower/kitchen/living room) with your colleagues, which is a group of around 8 people
    -we have two "compost toilets" (with beautiful view!)
    -we have a laundry machine (not for free) and wi-fi (free), books, DVD's and games in the communal living room
    -it is advisable to bring a torch/flashlight, mosquito spray and work clothes/shoes which can get dirty and something warm for the sometimes cold nights. Very important: a hat/cap! (the sun can be very strong!) !!!!!!!
    -allergies/diets (except vegan) will be respected. We have knowledge about both.

    VERY IMPORTANT INFORMATION!!!!!!!!!!!:
    1) In the past we've had too many unpleasant experiences with volunteers not showing up, without notifying us. Somehow, being a volunteer seems to give some people the right to do whatever they want. Whilst the host has reserved a spot and has said no to other interested volunteers. The host counts on the volunteer just as much as vice versa. Unfortunately this behaviour has forced us to apply the following rule:
    In all cases we will need you to confirm your stay with us, two weeks prior to your arrival date. If not confirmed to us, you will automatically loose "your spot" and we will have enough time to look for another volunteer.
    2) It's absolutely necesary to have a "travel insurance", which will cover any medical costs,
    in case anything happens to you.
    If you're not insured, we can't take you in. This counts for all workaway hosts.

    Last but not least:

    We are allergic to people who think that they can just have a cheap holiday and be lazy all day, whilst using our facilities and goodwill. (#1)
    We are very serious about our work and have one motto : "when we work, we work hard....when we chill, we chill hard" !!
    Honest and motivated people who really want to contribute to our project and learn something useful, are very welcome in our little paradise and will be treated with respect and thankfulness (#2).
    It´s an exchange which requires a healthy and honest attitude!!
    If you belong to this second group, please write us. If you belong to the first group...don´t bother to write us, you´re wasting your and our time.

    We'd love to hear from you!

    Regards

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks are varied and seasonal. Can be gardening in the veggie garden (seeding, transplanting, weeding, harvesting) or maintaining our gardens around appartments. Also animal care, assisting in the hospitality sector and assisting in building/painting/landscaping.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    dutch, english, spanish, portugese, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom in the house or a caravan. Kitchen & sanitary facilities are shared. Note that we are using a compost toilet which is a non flushing toilet and the living circumstances are basic.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please bring a flashlight/torch, clothes wich can get dirty and comfortable work shoes/boots. Also sun-lotion with high factor and mosquito repellant are advisable. No need to bring bedding/sleeping-bag.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours

My Photo Album





















































Host ref number: 5292999254b5