Helper who loves dogs and gardens needed in Tagish, Yukon

Country

Canada

Favourited 282 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We need help looking after our sled dogs this summer in Yukon. You would be brushing and playing with them and cleaning up after them and ensuring they are getting lots of cool water. This summer we are building lots of little projects for the dogs you can help with. We also need help watering flowers and garden.

    Please, we need you to be honest. You must be able to lift 25 pounds (12 kg). You must be physically fit . If you get lonely and need to have us do all your chores beside you, that doesn't help in any way so please don't come. If you cant wake up before noon, this isn't the spot for you (except for 2 days a week). Sorry we don't mean to be rude but we have had troubles in the past. No smoking allowed on property.

    But.....
    - you have access to lots of trails and things to do and see! This is the Yukon! We have kayaks canoe and dog scooters.
    -You get to live with an experienced mushers, one of whom has run the Yukon Quest and hear some pretty cool stories and learn a lot!
    We have a modern house, running water and
    Internet. Although it is a little typical log cabin.
    There are 2 cabins for volunteers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a sled dog family for 30 years! We ran the Yukon Quest 1600km race 3 times and many others around the world. We are outdoors people. Want to learn how to use a chain saw? power tools? do dog care? Husband is a carpenter (former carpenter instructor) and wife is a nurse

  • Help

    Help

    We are needing 1 person to help here in Tagish.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english - expert, french - beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a small log house about 1.25 hours from Whitehorse, Yukon. We are 30km from Carcross.
    There are 2 separate cabins for volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are wilderness people though so not too keen on being in Whitehorse too often, but try to get our volunteers around a little bit so they can sight see in the Yukon.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The tent where the dogs sleep half way point of the Yukon Quest. Dawson City, Yukon
Getting ready to leave the startline of Yukon Quest 2011
This photo by Harry
Our son Dan in the World Championships in Dawson City . Stay turned for more dog mushing photos.



Host ref number: 525831424975