Come and help us on our farm with general maintenance and animal care in Edinburgh, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 333 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/10/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there,
    My name is Jamie . I was born and brought up on the farm, and have worked on the farm throughout my life. Recently, I need to spend more time focusing on the business aspect of the farm and we need a helping hand to assist with the physical labor and helping out with animals, especially pigs.
    My sons Angus, age 26 and Charlie age 23 both live and work on the farm but we need more workers as we can't manage it all ourselves. They run an events company on the farm which is really exciting, often there are events such as dinner, birthdays and weddings which we need extra help with. The company specialises in sustainable and local farming and produce.
    I live with my wife Helen, and daughter Lucy, in a house 0.5 miles away from the farm. Our other child Alice join us when she's back from university.
    We're a very relaxed and welcoming family and would really appreciate the help of workawayers.
    This job is more suitable for couples as working on the farm alone can sometimes be quite laborious and lonely work. Having company always makes the work more enjoyable!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    The feeding and cleaning out of up to piglets and pigs over a number of fields and stables.
    Looking after/feeding 2 donkeys.
    General maintenance and feeding of a small chicken coup.
    General gardening work.
    General maintenance and up keep of a farm - eg digging holes/trenches/drains.
    A moderate level of strength, fitness and endurance is required - some jobs may be quite physical.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're not far from the centre of Edinburgh so during time off it is quick and easy to get to the capital. A bus from the closest village; Balerno, takes 40 minutes to reach the centre of Edinburgh.
    Experience a small scale family style working farm and business on the outskirts of Edinburgh, Scotland.
    Learn simple skills about how to look after pigs from piglets to adulthood, slaughter, butchery and the selling/distribution of meat.
    Understand more about local Scottish farming and farm produce.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Live in with the family who run the farm. Provided with own double bedroom, kitchen, shower room, toilet, and living room.
    Workawayers will be provided with food - an evening meal will usually be taken in the main family kitchen but a personal kitchen is available so workawayers can cook their own food; do not feel you need to spend every evening with the family. Lunch will be taken in the main house with Helen and Jamie or at the boys house on the farm depending on the work for that day.
    A budget will be given if the workawayer prefers to cook their own meal/ eat separately.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bicycles are provided for use around the farm and as a way of transport to the local village (Balerno - 2 miles). There is a direct bus to Edinburgh from Balerno 44 (40 minutes to the centre of Edinburgh - £1.60 single ticket). We are located at the foot of the beautiful Pentland hills, near a number of scenic reservoirs with lots of well sign posted walking routes with views of Edinburgh.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album




Host ref number: 497868147143