Farmstay in the ‘Paris’ of the Prairies, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

new host
Country

Canada

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️*️️UPDATE: I am fully booked for May, June, July and August. July and August are tentative bookings so if there is a cancellation then I will look for someone last minute. Thank you for all the interest:)


    Hi there!! Are you looking for a unique adventure? My name is ‘Michelle’ and I am seeking immediate placements for a farmstay for the months of May to August 2019. If you would like a ‘really’ authentic experience our daughter is getting married on the farm in June and we are having a country ‘ho-down’ barn 👰 wedding!! 🌈🇨🇦.

    Now about us!! We are Michelle and Claude and we are grain farmers in the prairies...Saskatchewan, Canada which is right smack dab in the middle of Canada. We grow canola, lentils, peas, and wheat. Please don’t exclude Saskatchewan as a place to visit because it really is a very gorgeous place with wide open spaces, beautiful skies, rolling hills, lots of nearby lakes and you can quad, motorbike or skidoo(in winter), ride horses or drive cart for miles and miles.

    Claude is French Canadian, bilingual and has farmed all his life. He is a genuinely happy go lucky guy, you will be hard pressed not to see him smiling or laughing.
    We are a blended family with 5 kids, all adults except for Madelene who is 17 and in grade 11. I am a retired registered nurse and now work as a clinical hypnotherapist for the past 10 years.

    We are extremely spontaneous, love adventure and travel, we were in Arizona, Mexico and Italy this past winter. We ride horses, drive motorcycles and quads, ski, skidoo and boat. We love meeting new people, experiencing different cultures, food, languages and swapping stories. We are easy going, love to laugh and really enjoy life.

    As for me...as a hobby I play with horses. I enjoy doing trick training, agility, driving cart, western riding and natural horsemanship. I thoroughly enjoy sharing my passion with other equine enthusiasts. And as a side note I am an equine assisted leader, so I work with kids and adults to help build confidence or release trauma. I also host equine meditation retreats and have one coming up in May.

    So what are we looking for from a workawayer? Well definitely animal lovers, we have 7 horses, 2 lovely dogs and 4 cats.
    We like people who are independent, spontaneous, versatile, adventurous and enjoy life long learning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would learn all aspects of Canadian grain farm life; be able to work with and or ride horses, and also be able to practice your English skills. Experience a meditation retreat.

    As farmers we have to have diverse knowledge in all areas from animal husbandry; welding; mechanics; construction; machining; large equipment operation; semi driving; maintenance; marketing. It is a wonderful lifestyle, we do have to work hard, but also have the freedom and flexibility to create our day as we wish. So if we get caught up on work we can take off for a few days to the lake and go fishing or water skiing.

  • Help

    Help

    We would need assistance working with horses, riding, grooming, feeding.
    So familiarity with horses or basic riding skills would be advantageous. But if you don’t like to ride I also have smaller ponies you can work and play with as well. I am always willing to teach.

    General yard maintenance such as cleaning up horse pens, cutting grass, fence repair, setting up arena.

    If you are really adventurous and would like to learn about farming practices and ride on big equipment, Claude would love to show you that aspect of farm life.

    Work hours would be 4-5 hours per day, weekends off. You are welcome to stay here on days off or head to the city. You can have fun riding quad, driving motorbike or ride horses until your hearts content.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English; French; Spanish(small amount)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a farm house and have 2 rooms for visitors and a private trailer as well. The house has a queen size bed downstairs and 2 twin beds in the upstairs room. The trailer has a double bed. Bedroom downstairs has private bathroom with shower and laundry.

    We can provide meals and we’d love if you’d eat with us as a family;). We really enjoy barbecuing in the summer and eating outdoors. We are not vegetarian, but don’t mind if you are.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 20 minutes from Saskatoon which has lots of local nightlife, beautiful restaurants, gorgeous walk along the river side, shopping. There is a new and upcoming area that is quite unique and close to the farmers market which runs every weekend. If you have a valid drivers license we can provide you with a vehicle to go exploring. Or we can also drive you in for the day or weekend.

    If you prefer to just go ride through the hills on your days off or read a book you can do that to. We live in a beautiful, quiet, natural area.

    If the weather is warm we can spend a few days at the lake, fishing, water skiing.

    Our yard can be quite busy, we have a lot of friends that like to pop in and we have friends and family over for supper, tapas or a glass of wine on the deck in the evenings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 452945313763