Help build, repair, fabricate and cook with a travelling non-profit kitchen in San Francisco, USA

updated
Country

United States

Favourited 1030 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1206

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I LOVE LAST MINUTE REQUESTS, SO IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A PLACE RIGHT NOW, MESSAGE ME!

    I am a seasoned traveller and a trained cook. My project has been to turn a short school bus into an off-grid travelling kitchen, to go all around the Americas, stopping and helping at farms along the way and collecting any excess food they may have to make food for anyone else I meet along the way, because everyone deserves a decent meal.

    AT THIS MOMENT

    I have just returned from a year-long break from this project, hitch-hiking around Europe and North Africa. I have the privilege of being able to use half of a duplex that my father grew up and lives in (the other half). The half we will be living in is very basic, but it has everything you need except for a shower, but we are welcome to use the upstairs.
    I always get many requests. I have a room (as seen in the pictures) set-up with four separate beds at the moment (one double for couples or friends) and I try to host as many people as can comfortably work. So, we need to be seeing this as communal living.

    Now, PLEASE READ;

    If you have SKILLS WITH METAL FABRICATION, MECHANICS, ELECTRICAL OR JUST GENERALLY HANDY WITH TOOLS, please message me as soon as possible and lets see how we can work something out as this is the kind of work I truly need done at this moment.

    However, there is usually room for others as well, and there is other work that can be done (cleaning, helping with chopping, possibly smaller projects that will help the larger project), but for those requests, I do not plan ahead more than a week at a time and can only make exceptions for skilled volunteers.

    If I agree to host you, then you will always have a place to sleep and PLENTY of good fresh food to eat.

    (HOPEFULLY) SPRING AND BEYOND
    The weather will be getting good, farms will be growing more food than they know what to do with and camping will be nice so the school bus kitchen will be hitting the road! This will not a typical hippie-bus road-trip, this will be a travelling community kitchen. We will be working on whatever bus projects we can, cooking at farms and enjoying the best parts of this world while we still can (nature, music, food, whatever comes our way). Again, and I hate to repeat it, but for this time as well, I won’t be able to plan around people that I think would just fit in without any of the necessary skills, but I will try as hard as I can for people that have the skills I need to further the bus projects).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    SAN FRANCISCO:
    I live in the middle of San Francisco and was born and raised around here. I know what I like and have had many travellers stay with me and feel I know some cool places to take people or to point them to.

    There's lots of community involved things I participate in such as food sharing groups and love food so can show you some typical things from around or where I've been.

  • Help

    Help

    I hope to get these things done in the next months;

    -Design and fabricate a cargo rack that can be attached to a hitch in the back of the vehicle for bikes and other larger outdoor items
    -Measure, cut and re-weld an aluminum tank for vegetable oil and connect it to the fuel line on the bottom of the bus.
    -Set-up electricity (lights, based on a solar panel system (the panels are attached to the roof rack, but I still need to obtain batteries and a charge controller, design the system so that not too wires lay around (this will take creativity) and figure out a place to store batteries (might have to be fabricated)
    -Set up water system

    Projects that I plan to develop, but are not priority at the moment;

    - Building a solar dehydrator
    - Building a solar oven
    -Designing an entire alternative fuel system for the indoor kitchen (stoves, oven, hot water heating), this has been an ongoing devolpment, as it just does not exist the way I want/need it to for my vision, but I am quite sure with the right mind(s) and hands, we can get this done, but don’t expect that we will just get this done over a few days
    -Adding components to a pedal-powered multi-accesory. It’s already a blender, but lets get this stationary bike to wash our clothes, chop up our food, mill our flours, press our oil, let’s see what we can get out of it
    -Changing the bus’s sound system
    -Designing and fabricating many different add-ons, I intend to put on over time for efficiency and comfort (there may be a lot of creative opportunity for crafty people)
    -Building super efficient rocket stoves for outdoor cooking
    -As it is a multi-faceted project, there will always be random things that need to be done or fixed, so general mechanical and or handyman skills can always be useful to have around. )
    - Building a small micro-green garden
    - Design to make things efficient and to look classy

    Finally, here are things that don't necessarily take particular skill, but will always be needed;

    -COOKING!!!!! (Learn how to collect food for free and then can, ferment, dehydrate or just prepare whatever comes your way or just help me do it if you already know how)
    -Collecting, filtering used vegetable oil
    -Cleaning (A clean kitchen makes a happy bus)
    -Documenting (I have not truly decided on how this might work, but if you are able to help with other things and you want to document things in a tasteful way to show people in the world what we are doing and everyone who is on board at that time want that, then we can see if that can work out)
    -Networking to find food, parts and help (this might tie into the documenting)
    - Web research

    The ideal situation for me would be to have 2-3 skilled volunteers that can help on projects to help further the project and 1-2 people with good attitudes that can help me keep things clean and help with chopping and making the place generally pleasant.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (poco), I can speak a handful of words in a few different languages, but not enough to claim to be fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    -In a home in San Francisco. I am from San Francisco, and this is my grandparent’s old house, it’s quite a cool and central house,and is now my father's, who lives in the upper unit. There are pictures of the room you'll be sleeping in in the picture portion of the profile. I know the city pretty well and when we are not working on bus projects, I can show you my favorite places and activities and we can possibly take road trips.

    ON THE ROAD:

    In the Spring, I hope to hit the road and every night might be different, but I will always have tents and blankets or sleeping bags and pads for people to sleep with. We may sleep somewhere random in the nature, near some hot spring. We may be staying at a farm where we can preserve and ferment some stuff, we may be staying with random friends (I have a few) along the way, if you need to travel with an exact plan, then this is probably not the best situation for you.

    I AM SORRY, BUT I CANNOT HOST PETS

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I volunteer to make free meals for anyone twice a week and there's some other interesting places I frequent and can show.

    RESPECT; There will be no sexism, racism, homophobia or any of that stupid crap on this project, if you have to ask what else I might be talking about, then this isn't the bus for you. Its really quite simple, just don't be an asshole. With that being said, I love to be a sarcastic asshole, so make sure you are ok with people joking around.

    If you have read the profile fully and understand everything I have said please include in your request a typical meal from your childhood that you have great memories of.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    There is no expectation, I just want folks who want to help.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (3.0)























Host ref number: 398358788973