If you love walking then come here and walk donkeys or dogs in Secondigny, France

Country

France

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    There was a comedy series in the 1970 in England called the good life and we are looking for people like Tom and Barbra not Margo type people. You can find the series on youtube.
    Now you can think yes I fit into this type and we will be willing to host you. I think this is the best way I can explain what we are looking for.
    Our family consist of 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 donkeys, 1 horse and me and my husband. We are English and live a very relaxed and simplistic lifestyle in rural France. We are still doing up our house but the animals always take first place.
    We are situated in the Deux Sevres 4kms away from Secondigny a small town with various shops and restaurants this means that there are no shops next door to us, the nearest shop is 4 kms away. In the same town there is an outdoor swimming pool open only in July and August.
    A larger town Parthenay 18 kms away is very historic and has a weekly market. The swimming pool is open all year.
    We would be willing to collect from Bressuire or Parthenay railway/bus station on your arrival day and drive you back when you leave if you arrive with no transport.
    We live in the quiet countryside which is great for walking or cycling.
    You will need to bring your own car if you wish to explore more of the area

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enrich you life's experience living in France with an English family, seeing the French way of life from a different perspective.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help walking our horse, donkeys and dogs plus bramble/nettle clearing. We also need help with fencing the fields. This year we are hoping to clear the small woodland. We also need help with chainsawing trees which have already been felled but are now laying in the fields. If you prefer to work indoors you can do the cooking and cleaning.
    We are creating a secluded garden for the caravan.


    Normally you would be expected to volunteer from 8.00 until 12.00 then you have all afternoon and evening to yourselves. During the summer the animals will be walked early morning starting at 0700 or evening stating at 1900/ 7pm. Helping hours can be flexible to suit everyone.

    We can not accept anyone with their own dogs.

    You will need to be fit and keen and have appropriate footwear/clothing to help with our horse and donkeys, We do have a few spare pairs of wellies which are essential for some of the dirty jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a two beth caravan for you to sleep in, fully equipped for you to have breakfast, tea and coffee.
    So there is no confusion about the caravan naturally it is in the garden so may not be suitable for someone who is afraid of sleeping away from the house. Like most caravans there is a chemical toilet more commonly know as a porta potti to be used mainly at night as during the day you can use the toilets in the house. There is no shower for the moment in the caravan so you have to use the shower in the house as well. Two berth caravans mean it sleeps two adults comfortable . .If there is another workaway at the same time they will sleep in the house in a large bedroom which has a double bed and a single bed with ensuite, but at the moment would have to share shower with anyone staying in the caravan.
    Lunch will be eaten together in the house, We have found the vegans do not fit into our life style.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local buses are very cheap but start from Secondigny which is 4kms away, we do not mind dropping and picking you up from down there and then you can go to different towns which are very historic, with weekly markets on the bus.
    The area is more suitable for someone who wants the peace and quiet of the countryside, it is a great place to explore on foot.
    We live a very quiet, relaxed and simplistic life with our animals.
    We are in a rural area so would not be suitable if you want pubs ,clubs and nightlife.
    It is more the life of watching the stars whilst listening to the frogs, crickets, owls and other night life creatures.
    Although we live a quiet life it would be lovely to have someone who enjoys talking. We would love to hear about your travels and the country you come from.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 384151396927