Wood-working workshop/apprentice, Sibillini Mountain region of Central Italy.

Country

Italy

Favourited 138 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    262

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Marco, 30 years old of Italo-Argentine parents. I'm a wood worker with a business making hand-crafted objects, customized furniture, and picture frames, and doing furniture-restoration work. I have an on-line outlet for much of my work.
    I live and work in Sarnano, a small town in the foothills of the Sibillini Mountains in central Italy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn how to work with your hands, how to project and make things, you will learn traditional woodworking techniques in making furniture, how to restore them and woodcarving. You will also learn how to frame an artwork.

    This is a chance to acquire wood-working skills for yourself, and experience life in a beautiful region of Italy.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for people that has a strong interest in learning fine woodworking, please notice that this is more a workshop than an apprentice work. I like to teach, but I want to spend some of my time with enthusiastic and willing hosts.

    This project is based with the idea, in the future, to open a woodworking school making workshops and courses.

    What I need is help in keeping my workshop clean and tidy, and someone to do basic chores, like sanding, painting, helping me glue up furniture, etc.. I cannot let you use heavy machinery for safety reasons, but you can learn to use hand tools (which play an important part of my work), and learn a lot from just watching.

    I'm also asking help in my home, to keep it clean and in other basic and essential tasks..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom and share the bathroom, also the sitting-dining room and kitchen. I'm living in an attic which can be a bit fresh and warm during the seasons.

    *️️️I'm not providing food*️️️ because here you can learn a really important craft that can cost lot of money doing it as a private course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My flat is five minutes walk from the square, there are bars and a couple of pubs where you can have a beer in the evening. Also a bus service to the provincial town of Macerata, and small towns to visit nearby. You can also do trekking in the mountains.. *️️I ask independence on the free time*️️

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (food not included)



Host ref number: 379846427595