Learn about sustainable organic sheep farming in Vermont!

Favourited 96 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    22/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    604

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are small sheep farm on a steep hill in Central Vermont. We have pasture raised Icelandic Sheep for meat, milk, and wool as well as horses, ducks, chickens and a busy household with a teenager, 4 housemates, and my grown daughter (and dogs and cats!).
    Most of the farming is done by me - Jill - so I am often in need of extra hands to help with everything from cleaning stalls to building out buildings (we will be constructing a sheep shed with a small cabin attached this summer for summer visitors to stay in) to skirting wool.
    We have one room available with use of shared bathrooms. We generally eat dinner together, and we will provide you with food to make the rest of your meals.
    We can accommodate a couple or a small family if you are willing to share a room (it is a small room and only has one bed, but we can also set up a "cot" if necessary). We cannot, unfortunately, accommodate dogs since one of my dogs is very bossy :)
    No smoking or drug use is allowed in our house. Drinking must be on your own time. We may have an occasional glass of wine with dinner, however.

    We raise our own meat (and much of our own milk, eggs, and veggies), so we are not a vegetarian household. However, we can easily accommodate you if you are.

    Central Vermont is very beautiful, but mostly rural. The only public transportation is a commuter bus service which stops about 2 miles from our house. It will not take you into Richmond village - you will need a bike or car for that - but it will take you to Burlington or Montpelier (Vermont's capital) on weekdays. It does not run on weekends. There is usually someone going to and from our house with whom you can get a ride, however.

    During the winter months, we start and end our days with animal related chores. In between, I work on other projects around the house. As soon as the lambs come in April, however, I will be busy all day, every day with sheep related chores. Guests are free to choose which of those tasks they would like to help with or learn how to do - feeding sheep and horses, cleaning our barns and sheds, milking sheep and storing milk, tending lambs and ewes on pasture, building new outbuildings, installing and repairing fences, grooming horses, skirting raw wool, and occasionally the marketing and selling of farm products.

    You can learn more about our farm by looking up Hestholl Icelandics on Facebook or Instagram!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for people to help with daily farm chores and whatever else comes along for about 4 hours a day.
    Need extra hands to help with everything from cleaning stalls, to building out buildings (we will be constructing a sheep shed with a small cabin attached for summer visitors to stay in), to skirting wool, to milking sheep and cooking meals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - trying to learn Spanish, German, and Icelandic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and meals provided. Shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the mountains of central Vermont, but only a short (15 minute) drive to Burlington - Vermont's largest city - where there are lots of fun tourist attractions right on Lake Champlain. We are very close to the Long Trail, and some great hiking and biking in summer, and skiing in winter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn all about the operation and maintenance of a sustainable, humane, sheep farm and get to visit beautiful Vermont!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week OR 4 hours/day for shorter stays

My Photo Album









Host ref number: 373835354398