5 acre property near Ballarat and Daylesford, Australia



Favourited 93 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    Hi, welcome to the beautiful Daylesford region! We are Jill and Phil & beloved dog Buddy who at 18 years of age is a little blind and a lot deaf, but still with us a while longer we hope. We have relocated to the picturesque Ballan township from South Australia where we were active hosts with other volunteer exchange websites including Workaway for many years.
    The property has enormous garden areas that constantly need clearing and tidying. We also have many projects in mind to make the place our own so your help and experience can be matched with our plans. We will constantly establish veggie gardens and here is a little menagerie of spoilt animals to look after. We have a little BnB we have on site which currently permanently tenanted. There will always be plenty to do - even just a house and pet sit from time to time as we do go back to Adelaide a lot. At the moment we have Buddy, 8 chickens, 3 sheep, 3 goat kids, 2 alpacas, 2 ducks and a cat..... who all think they belong inside by the fire!. I (Jill) cook for local cafes and cater for functions so kitchen hand work is also appreciated.
    Ballan is well situated and close to transport in Western Victoria and there is a train directly to/from Melbourne. In either direction within 25 minutes you have the vibrant and historic Victorian towns of Daylesford and Ballarat.
    Although you will stay in the main house you would enjoy your own space with a separate bedroom, and bathroom for your private use. We are a 50's, very social couple and would make you feel at home. I prepare all meals and I'm not a bad cook and just love to feed people so you simply won't go hungry! I do also cater well for Vegetarians. I have two grand daughters that I look after from time to time so a bit of babysitting may come into play as well, either here or at my daughters place (also Ballan).
    We are very happy to get you out and about on days off to see some locals spots and meet other people.
    Couples from 25 years up are preferred but singles and other ages are very welcome to apply if they have the skills that suit. We ask for 4 hours a day which includes full board if you're a single visitor or 6 hours combined for a couple (3 hrs each a day) These hours don't have to be worked as outlined of course.......doing a full day and then some days off for sightseeing is absolutely fine by us. All we ask is you show some willing and initiative and love our animals as much as we do.
    We can assist with some local transport like running you to the stations or nearest bus stops if you don't have a car.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help


    Gardens, Vege patch maintenance, Animal care, Kitchen work, Odd jobs and some minor building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ballan is a super friendly country town and we are regular 'go outers' and very happy to take you along with us to meet yet more local aussies, visit local spots of interest, sample some wines and simply experience our relaxed lifestyle.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Independant or with us as a family....your choice If you chose to stay in the main house you would enjoy your own space with a separate bedroom, and bathroom for your private use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    In exchange for full board we expect 3 hours a day for a single & 5 (or 2.5 each) for a couple.

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 372733951744