Permaculture eco building community project on a family farm in the mountains of south eastern Czech Republic

updated
Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 399 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    110  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    MISSION FEBRUARY
    We need a couple of easygoing volunteers to give us a hand with the work around farm. If you like chopping wood this is a good place for you:) You can crack nuts behind the oven, make chutney,feed animals:) There are always some repair jobs (like tools) and interior renovation jobs (basic carpentry and masonry). In good weather you can make some nice trips around. We are also happy for the help with children and your company:) Good food and cosy sleeping room at attic provided. There is a half metre of snow all around, if you like winter sports you can take some equipment with you.
    ALWAYS LOOKING FOR CHEERFUL PEOPLE WHO WANT TO MAKE PRACTICAL USE OF THEIR HANDS AND LEARN ABOUT ALL THINGS SELF-SUFFICIENT. WE HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU.

    WE ARE....
    .... a small family farm now in our fifth year in the hills of south- eastern Czech close to the Slovakian border. It is an old wooden farmhouse still in need of a lot of work but things have improved. We keep goats, sheep and chickens. Have gardens, forage and provide most of our food ourselves. From early spring till late autumn we routinely have a larger crew of volunteers, family and friends here, but we also take volunteers in winter. At times it can get busy and crowded. We train volunteers in relevant farm and live skills and expect everybody to pitch in and help keep this little community going. Though there is always a lot of work things are flexible and there are opportunities to visit local events, make campfires etc. Our core activities are

    WHERE THE FOOD COMES FROM....
    The gardens are a sort of permaculture which really is working with the symbiotic relationships between the plants, letting things grow that grow and not bothering to much about the weeds. The result is a happy and healthy mix and less work. We also have fruit trees. The environment here offers a range of medicinal herbs, mushrooms and other stuff. We are happy to share our knowledge and show you how to use these gifts of nature. The goats we start milking after kidding in spring, most of the summer they are free grazing on the meadow and in winter we kill the young bucks for meat. The chickens or feathered pigs are roaming around the farm and the sheep are doing their sheepy thing.

    .....AND WHAT WE DO WITH IT
    About 80 percent of our food comes from the farm. We have a strong focus on seasonal, down-to-earth, healthy food.Cooking is a permanent job here and help always required. We do a lot of food preservation, marmelade, sirup, boil-dried fruit, smoking meat, milk fermentation, cheese making, smoking meat, making fruit wine etc. if you dont have household and cooking skills please learn them fast. Its a small place and with a lot of people it messes up very fast

    CRAFTS AND SKILLS
    Farm and household skills aside we also have a lot of home repair and building activities. these include working with cly/cob, lime, bricks, stones, cement, wool, wood and bottles. We try to use natural materials most of the time they are the best and cheapest. We also mess around with oven and chimney systems, 12 Volt DC electricity and solar panels. Tool repairs and fence maintenance are also a permanent job, Sometimes we also undertake more challenging projects like furniture building etc. You have a chance to work with a range of hand and power tools including generators and chainsaw. All the same: Safety First

    THE PLACE AND CONDITIONS
    The house is smalll so dont expect loads of privacy when full. Kitchen is a shared space. If the weather is OK please use the outside toilet - the view is rewarding. Volunteer accommodation is in the attic and we would like to upgrade the area. It has its own oven, is insulated and even has a carpet. We do request the volunteers to keep it clean and tidy. In summer tents can be pitched and we normally set up our teepee. We are around 20 min by foot from the village Luzna u Vsetina on the hill overlooking the valley. Nearest town is Vsetin about 10km away. Luzna has both bus and train connection. Conditions are simple -camping conditions at times- but if you like nature its good. Electricity comes from solar panels or generator. Charging of phones etc depends on availability of electricity. Low when overcast

    DAILY ROUTINES
    We get up at six, get the kitchen going, the kids together etc. Breakfast around eight - 1001 varieties of porridge. Before or after animal duties, releasing and feeding chickens, milking goats and letting them on the meadow, feeding cat and dog. Till lunch is the core working time, David is working around three days a week of the farm, Anna is here most of the time and Jakub at kindergarden or school. The days work is normally discussed the previous day and if we are not available volunteers work with minimal supervision - works pretty good, we get some creative results and the volunteers a chance to practice their skills without our interference. Lunch is together and after that there is normally a siesta. Afternoons we take things more easy, cooking, finishing things of, preparing for the next day, tidying and maintenance, processing harvest etc. All the same this schedule does depend on the current situation. There might be urgent harvest or seeding work or emergency repairs. Last year we finished the hay harvest with torchlight. It rained the next day. After dinner we tidy the kitchen and the have to close the kitchen as we need to put the kids to bed and also need some family privacy.

    We take volunteers all year. Both short and long term but prefer longer term as it gives us the chance to provide better training. We are also happy o take professionals or semi-professionals who want to specialize on specific subjects and can also offer training programmes for students. References provided.

    About us: Us that is Anna, an experienced gardener, great cook and the heart and soul of our little household, David is a power machine of our project, Jakub is a six year old pirate. As of beginning of 2018 we have been joined by our beautiful daughter Berenika

    Cheers and looking forward to see you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an open house. We welcome everybody who is willing to pull their weight and contribute towards making this a friendly, innovative place full of ideas and joy. We are happy for you to only stay a short time, enjoy the place and get stuck into some simple work or stay for longer, get some in depth knowledge and focalize your own projects.
    We have a strong focus on self-sufficiency and DIY techniques as means of self-empowerment and would like you to become part of it.

  • Help

    Help

    It is warming up again and we are getting ready for another busy season. All sort of help is needed so if you want to get involved please contact us

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Czech, English, German, Spanish, Dutch, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an insulated attic with an oven inside. It is still rather basic but are happy for ideas to improve it. Kitchen and bathroom are shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated on a hill with no public road access. By foot its about 15 minutes to the next village called Lužna. A train station is in Horni Lidec about another 15 minutes by car. As both of us are working part time we can take you to town sometimes. The region has a rich folklore tradition and especially in summer and autumn there are a lot of village feasts. We have a pretty packed but flexible schedule and are happy for you to organize things as suits you best as long as things get done and everybody is fine with it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Sheep wool insulating we are working on at the moment
goat selfie
we are family friendly place:)
Happy pig life:)
Clay Building with recycled glass
freedom
Outside shover
volunteer campside
The working crew:)
Spring is back!
Harvested!
Milking goats session
Siesta!
a farm between forest


































































Host ref number: 372167281718