Rural French idyll needs a little TLC.....

Favourited 54 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    01/03/2018

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a lovely big old traditional stone-built house with an acre of garden in a very friendly village on the Haute Vienne/Dordogne border. We have 2 dogs (an Airedale and a timid French hunting dog) and 14 chickens. My husband works in the merchant navy and is away half the year leaving me to keep the garden and house under control.... I could use help with both! I would prefer females or couples, or mixed groups of friends - I have 2 bedrooms available and 4 beds if required.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    It's a big old house and needs some freshening up so I'd love some help painting and decorating, and also some help cleaning and keeping the house looking lovely, nothing too strenuous! The garden is also large and there is always room for improvement! Weeding, working on the veggie plot, cleaning out the chickens and collecting their eggs etc....

    Walking the dogs in the local countryside to give me the occasional lie in would also be much appreciated! I would like 15 - 20 hours of help a week in the house and garden in return for a lovely large bedroom and bathroom and 3 meals a day, hopefully taken in the garden when possible - if you like to cook occasionally that would be great!

    On May 17th I will be hosting the 5th annual Marval Garden Party, the proceeds of which are divided between cancer and local charities, last year we raised 3,500 Euros - there is always lots of work to do in the run up to this, moving tables, putting up tents, tidying the garden, clearing up afterwards etc so extra pairs of hands are especially welcome at this time, and it's great fun of course.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, reasonable French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own large double room with a view of the garden plus your own lovely bathroom with shower and roll-top bath..... We also have an indoor swimming pool but unfortunately the pump isn't working right now - if you can fix it, or help replace it, the pool will be heated during July/August when there will also no doubt be BBQ's.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Marval is a great community and no doubt aperitifs with neighbours will happen! Having said that it is pretty rural and your own transport is almost essential as there is little or no public transport, although there is a bicycle available (not used lately, might need a little help!) The nearest town, Piegut-Pluviers is about 8kms away and has a lively market each Wednesday morning. We are about 45 mins to an hour from Limoges, Angouleme and Perigueux, and 25 mins from the lovely river and market town of Brantome where canoeing is very popular and scenic.

    I do a lot of arts and crafts and if you're interested I can teach you to bead (jewellery), make felt and découpage furniture, just for starters!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 - 20 hours per week, flexible weekdays or weekends

My Photo Album

April and may for the Wisteria
My painting of the lake, five minutes walk with the dogs from the house, then on into the woods
A decoupaged case, I can teach and help with this sort of thing
Always happy with a glass of wine!
My litttle beaded brooches - oh how the long winter evenings fly by!
sharing the pool with dangerous animals, and crocodiles!
You and your mates can share this hoooooooooge bedroom, overlooking the garden, leave the windows open and the fragrance of wisteria will waft across the room
Daisy and Rosie keeping an eye on the chickens
this is where we drink wine after a spot of gardening



Host ref number: 351945974147