Handcrafting, graphical arts and personal development in a forest of the Brave Coast (Catalonia)

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 167 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/09/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    I'm Blai, a 34 years old catalan man working as an author, animator and artisan. As an author, I've published some writings about political philosophy and I'm currently writing a book about personal integral development. As a cultural animator, I've organized some events (talks, festivals, philosophical meetings, study groups, concerts...) and I'm currently organizing some philosophical meetings. As an artisan, I am in the initial stages of the development of some useful and beautiful goods made with reused materials.

    Some years ago I studied philosophy and cinema. After that, In 2010-2014, I got very involved in socio-political and cultural activism, promoting an Inclusive Democracy, a new form a social organization based on ecology and direct democracy. In the last few years I've been learning new skills and conceiving new projects...

    I'm living in a camping car, a cottage in the forest and a flat in the village. Always with my beloved dog, Bruc. :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    These are the projects I appreciate some help for:

    -HANDCRAFTING. If you enjoy working with your hands and creating beautiful objects, there's quite a lot to do...

    -GRAPHICAL ARTS. If you do you like to paint, draw, design or decorate, we can find a good use for that. Related with the handcrafting project, there is the possibility to use your talent and passion as a graphical artist...

    -LIBRARY. I'm arranging and classifying my library, which has hundreds of books about philosophy, politics, personal development...

    -GARDENING. I'm taking care of the pines forest near the cottage, and there are many small pines which need to be cut down or pruned. There's also the need to arrange some paths, moving the soil...

    -RESEARCH. If you have studied philosophy and/or psychology or have some important knowledge, experience and interest in personal development, maybe you can help me with the research I'm doing for my book.

    So, depending on your interests and capacities, and depending on the current focus of my work, we'll be able to find the specific combination of tasks that best suits our needs.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm interested in a wide range of issues, but I my focus in this years is in personal integral self-development. I mean that I'm learning about methods for self-knowledge, self-determination, self-management and self-improvement. So my stay can be very appropriate for someone who wants to work in his/her own personal integral development, learning and practicing various methods: positive psychology, integral and perennial philosophy, mindfulness and meditation, mucus-less and conscious diet, productivity hacks, fitness and sports, permaculture and nature connection, journaling, emotional releasing...

    I'm living in l'Alt Empordà, la Costa Brava, one of the most beautiful areas of Catalunya. I'm 7km away from the beaches of Empuries (with its greek ruins and old villages) and Sant Pere Pescador (a huge beach with a natural park and lots of kitesurfers). The train station is 7km from my home, and with the train is easy to go to Girona, Figueres or even Barcelona.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, Catalan, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfortable and spacious camping car placed in the pines forest, close to the cottage where I live. It has its own water, electricity, kitchen and toilet. There is a nice view of the mountain and the sea from it.

    In winter, the accommodation may be totally or partially in the flat of l'Escala.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    -I consider myself easy-going, positive, active, tranquil, health-oriented, responsible and willing to contribute to the (r)evolution towards a radically better world. I look for workawayers who are quite similar.

    -I follow a vegetarian vitalist diet, based mainly on cooked greens and salads. Mostly organic and local food. I eat two big meals a day, and one or two small snacks and drinks if needed. I can offer you the same food I eat, but If you have any special requirement in that matter, just tell me, please, and probably we can adapt.

    -If you want to be in contact with nature and enjoying moments in which you are on your own, my offer can be appropriate for you, but if you are looking for a lot of social activity, obviously, this may not be your place.

    -If you want to explore the area by yourself, you can easily find a bike, car or motorbike to hire.

    -I'll usually host one workawayer. Occasionally two.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album


Host ref number: 343676573576