Help with internal house painting in quiet town close to San Francisco, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 368 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    10/10/2018

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family who have been living in the USA for almost 7 years. Rob works full time in San Francisco as a structural engineer and Donna owns a cafe. We have two great kids boy 13 and girl 10 We also have a very sweet 12 year old Labrador and 3 chickens. We live in the small town of Orinda which is in the East Bay of San Francisco. It's a 3 minute drive to the Bart which gets you into downtown San Francisco in 25 minutes. A 10 minute drive gets you to UC Berkeley. Orinda is a quiet , clean, safe town with low crime rates. There's a small cinema, library, community centre, farmers market, free concerts in the summer, outdoor movies and altogether a great town. The kids are into dance, music, cycling , parkour , guitar.
    We spend our free time eating out, visiting places of interest, going on day trips , discovering California, hiking , archery, skiing and socializing, we have a small RV and go camping when ever possible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    I March and April would love to have help with painting some rooms in our house. Some painting experience would be good. There may also be some odd jobs in the garden and a little dog care. There will be lots of free time to explore.

    We are also looking for visitors who would enjoy hanging out with our kids and dog for a few hours each day while the kids are off school in August they have summer camps most days but they just love having young people around. We would love you to tell them about your country and culture, play games with them,. The kids have a project to build a little house we would love someone who would enjoy and is able to do this with the kids.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They could improve their language skills, find out about the American/English culture. Learn to cook some local dishes, find out about local history and geography. Explore the outdoors, visit museums, places of interest.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 5 bedroom 2 1/2 bathroom house on 1/3 of an acre of pretty garden. You would have your own room with a full bed , closet. The bathroom is shared with the kids. We have a family lounge area with TV, plus you can access Netflix on the computer anywhere in the house. A small sitting area next to the kitchen. The garden is very pretty with views of Mount Diablo. It's a 15 minute walk to the town centre down a very steep hill (25 minutes back up again ).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Orinda a quiet town but easy to reach San Francisco. We are a thirty minute walk or a few minutes drive to the Orinda Bart station. It's just a short journey to Berkeley and Oakland to the University and all the restaurants , bars etc. there's great walking, cycling( we have bikes) camping ( we have camping gear)lake swimming near our home. We are a pretty relaxed family and would hope that our visitors are the same. Our kids are respectful and well behaved.

    We require our guests to have travel insurance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day

My Photo Album















Host ref number: 336957517654