Help small family with animals and yardwork- Østfold, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE 09.07.2019
    We have made arrangements for someome to arrive next week. Due to that we have a few days available this week and just over the weekend if it's of interest to someome already in Norway or Sweden, would suit as a transition between two hosts.

    We may have an opening in August, we'll update our profile as time goes.
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    We are a family of three (36-28-1.5), living in a small country house on a farm. Julie is working in equine buissness, Jens is staying at home with our child, and working part time.

    We have a few goats, pigs, rabbits, chickens and cats, a small house wich we are renovating, and huge outdoor space.

    We are based in the beautiful countryside of Østfold, only an hour trainride from Oslo, and 40min drive from Sweden border.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We provide an experience with Norwegian day to day family and farmlife. You'll be a part of our family during your stay, come with us to family occasions etc if you want.

    If you're interested in building, we will learn together, maintenance and renovation of an 100 year old house and property. A great opportunity to learn how to renovate a yard and a house, and how to build up a homestead step by step.

    You will learn A LOT about rabbits (and farmyard animals in general) as described.

    We would appreciate if you cook a dish from your country and teach us about your country as well as we love travelling but have no time for that at the moment.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to welcome one voulenteer (or suitable for a couple or two close friends).

    We're looking for an open minded and positive person, wich has no trouble getting their hands dirty. You will need to be good with animals and friendly with children (although there is no babysitting unless this is your interest).

    There might be some heavy lifting, and you will work on some tasks alone (wich mean you should be responsible and hands on) and some tasks together with us.

    Daily tasks includes feeding and watering the animals, collect eggs, collect grass and branches for animals. Mucking out when necessary (1-2 times a week).

    Tasks will vary by weather, and is any suitable task that needs to be done.


    PROJECTS FOR 2019

    Garening tasks: clearing areas outside (move stuff so it looks nice, things are messy outside because of renovating for two years, and no time to clean up), plant flowers (wildlife/cottage gardendesign), weeding, in general make a friendly gardenspace safe for kids.

    Learn about rabbit breeding and keeping rabbits for meat: gender rabbits, breeding, ear tattooing, cutting rabbit claws, general care, slaughter and prep fur (if you want, depends on season and other projects around the property)

    Goats and pig: Assisting with cutting goats hooves, Jens can teach you a lot about pigs! Build new shelter and an extra pigpen, we're expecting piglets this summer! New fencing for goats (?)

    Chickens: Are currently free range on the property - they eat (and poop) everywhere, they want a bigger coop outside as the one they have now is too small and in bad shape (this is why they are loose) and proper shelter before the winter (wich we have in the garage but need to convert).

    Might include hoovering etc. and some cleaning if bad weather :-(

    As our house is in renovating state, work may include in and outside renovating like painting (in and out), change panelling, help fix windows etc (wich ofc depends on your skills).

    You would have to clean up after yourself, dishes etc and be a part of our household as you are living here too :-)

    You would have to bring with you clothes for all weather and waterproof boots.

    WORKHOURS is set to 25hrs a week. Generally mon and thur afternoon and evenings (or daytime, depends on schedule) for bigger tasks (7.5 hrs), tues-wedn morning/daytime (5hrs), leaving fri-sun off, OR work on the weekends and having time off during the week, it all depends on your plans while staying here, and what we need to have done at the moment. We'll figure something out together, plan a week ahead, and make a list together every night with the tasks for the next day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian (native), English (B1&C1)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan on our property for sleeping/rest, placed approx 70meters from our house in a forest area, overlooking the fields. Simple conditions, gives a camping feel . Bathroom and showers is provided at our house. You're welcome to join us inside for the evening or at your spare time. We provide food, mostly shared meals (times vary)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is a 10-15 min drive away from any shop - museums, music hall, cinema, restaurants, cafes and mall in small town. Horse riding, walks, golf, fishing, library, etc.

    Public transport to Oslo or Sweden, and car rental 15 min drive away.

    We have bikes available for loan, but some might need to be fixed up first.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours pr week (SEE DESCRIPTION)

Have to eat
Guaranteed free range
Inspection. Cat is helping
One of the best photos of us
Are you on my bucket list ?!
Photo from a horseshow we attended in 2017, sadly we had to put the horse down that same year
Kid goat who lived inside as the mother didn't nuture her
Rabbits we keep for meat and fur
Kid goat two years ago
Kitchen.


Host ref number: 316478295816