Help needed in the orchard me manage the farm! in Pays d'Auge, a picturesque area of Lower Normandy, France


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate


  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Description


    On parle français.
    हमी नेपाली बोलछौं.
    हिन्दी बोल लेते हैं.
    هم اردو بول لیتے ھیں۔
    Wir sprechen Deutsch.
    ما فارسی حرف می زنیم۔
    We even happen to speak English!


    We are two men in their early 30s/40s with a little farm in the Pays d'Auge, a picturesque area of Lower Normandy known for its cider and dairy products.

    We stay in a quiet environment, though not far from a station which will take you to Caen, Lisieux, Rouen or Le Mans in no time and to Paris in two hours and a quarter.

    The farm is not our main source of income and not intended to become one either so we keep it easy! But we are willing to expand it and the potential is enormous so we are looking forward to people with experience and ideas.

    In exchange for your help, we offer you a nice and comfortable place to stay, simple but healthy and tasty meals, as well as (hopefully not too dull) conversation in a variety of languages.


  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Help


    Right now, the tasks include:

    • feeding a small number of chickens and rabbits. (and clean their mess, though this is probably a once-only task for the duration of your stay here) This is the only chore which is truly vital and requires regularity.
    • remove ivy from tree trunks. (there are several hundreds of apple trees here, though of course not all are infested)
    • prune fruit trees (apple and pear) and bushes (redcurrant, blackcurrant). Some heavy pruning is required for most apple trees, it seems.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Nepali, English, Hindi, German, Italian, Persian... and counting

  • Accommodation


    You'll live in a room on the ground floor with separate access, a washbasin and (low speed) wi-fi Internet (you'll enjoy a better connection outside your room). We'll share the same bathroom.

    There's virtually no public transportation apart from the railway station (trains to Paris, Caen, Rouen and Le Mans). The town is a bit far to walk to but there'll be a bicycle/moped at your disposal.

    Recreational activities will seem limited if you're not the quiet, nature-loving sort. The nearest beach is some 30 km away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We welcome language students. One of us is a trained and experienced French teacher so be prepared to hone your skills! We are eager to learn about your language too.

    We welcome people from all walks of life, no matter how different from us. We do expect a similar openness on your side.

    We particularly welcome people from South Asia and the Middle East or people with an interest in / a taste for these regions and their culture.

    We welcome people interested in organic farming, as long as their approach is non-dogmatic.

    We welcome non-smokers and vegetarian people. We don't smoke but our dietary habits are not 100% vegetarian.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    You'll be in good hands if you want to learn or deepen your knowledge of French (one of us is a trained language instructor).

    You can also learn a great deal about Indian and Nepali culture.

    We prefer to host people with at least some experience of farming. Ideally, you should be comfortable with animals and machines such as a brushcutter or a tractor.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    25 hours per week max


Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 2719447144dd

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts