Join an active retired English couple in this lovely peaceful and quiet part of northern France, and help around our garden and house

Country

France

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/07/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    55

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are situated at the end of a quiet country lane just over a kilometre from our local village. We are Ainslie and Carol, a retired English couple, who have lived in this lovely peaceful and quiet part of northern France since 2012. We have a large traditional stone farmhouse which we have been renovating, several outbuildings and nearly three acres of gardens in which we grow much of our own fruit and vegetables.
    We share our home with two cats and six chickens (who provide us with fresh eggs). We are a non-smoking house.
    We are continually busy working on ongoing projects in the house and gardens and always have a long list of jobs to choose from!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get a taste of rural living (with an English flavour) and the opportunity to learn practical gardening and carpentry skills. There will also be the opportunity to meet local people (both English and French and to visit local places of cultural and historic interest.

  • Help

    Help

    Spring is a busy time outside - we need help with landscaping and preparing the vegetable gardens. There are lots of jobs from cutting back vegetation and planting seeds to some heavier jobs (moving stone, digging etc) which will really best suit a person who is physically fit!
    If the weather is unsuitable for outdoor work we have various indoor projects to undertake (including decorating and helping Ainslie with carpentry and joinery work). No specialist knowledge is needed, just a willing pair of hands. We work at a relaxed tempo so it is always enjoyable!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Main language English - also speak basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be invited to live as one of the family eating with us and staying in one of our guest bedrooms (with double bed) and the use of your own bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the north west corner of the Mayenne Department, about 20 minutes walk to our village centre where there are two bars (one English, one French) and a couple of small shops. The nearest town is about 5 miles away. There are many historic towns to visit (including Le Mont St Michel about 90 minutes away) and the D Day invasion beaches (about 2 hours). Please note there is virtually no public transport in the area but we will be happy to take you out and show you some of the sites.
    We can accommodate one or two people.
    We have two cats.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 269272487535