Help me with guests at recreation area in Umeå, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    422

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I like to welcome you here! My name is Paavo and Im the board leader of the non profit organisation which is also community based of our little community Överboda. We have built a recreation area on top of the hill Gåstjärn behind my house. You can find there cabins built into the forrest near by a little lake. The recreation area is named after a large stone in place from the Ice Age where many fossils have been discovered dating back to the Stone Age.

    The area is for public use and in summertime we try to get some money in with selling burgers, serving groups or renting out the cabins.

    consist of:
    - Jaktstugan is the oldest cabin built about 1944 for the public use
    - A cabin with 4 beds for rent
    - A barbeque cabin
    - A kitchen also for our daily use at the summercafe
    - Trädhuset is our little heart and up to 6 people can rent it out and sleep there

    this place is not accessible for cars but this keeps the place in quietness and piece. The track is built for ATVs in summer and snowmobiles in winter. The parking area and also my house is around 1km away so it is a easy walk trough the woods to get to here. I also offer to drive up guests with the ATV and a self built trailer with up to 8 seats. Also I built a trailer for people in wheelchairs then the whole area here is accessible for wheelchairs.
    We want people over 25 years because you should know that it can get quite here. For people who like to be in the nature, like to go fishing, swimming and hiking this can be the right place to be.

    In summertime we need to repair all the 11 bridges so we can keep this place alive. There is always something to do or to repair. For fixing the bridges we try to get some donations via crowdfunding. It can be helpful if you already have some experience with woodwork. Repairing all the bridges can be heavy and exhausting so you need to make sure that you are able do to some physical work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In fact that the summercafe is open from June to end of August you will get in contact with a lot of of people mostly swedish visiting here. There will be enough time to visit Umeå and the most interesting places around it. I I like to show you the swedish way of living and also what is special in this kind of area like food and lifestyle. I live on the countryside so you also get in contact with farms and animals.

  • Help

    Help

    We need some help with taking care of all the visitors that come to us. While summercafe you will be in charge for having barbeque with burgers for our guests and serving groups.

    We need help to keep the cabins clean, doing laundry and changing sheds when cabins are booked out.

    We need help with cutting wood and building a place for storing the wood. We need help to fix all bridges and to even out the gravel on the track.

    You will learn how to drive an ATV so you can work also without me.

    For me it is also important that you can help me with office work which means create ideas for advertise the place. Recent updates for media projects from time to time are also necessary.

    We would like to have help for one month or more and we can host up one volunteer at a time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in my house in your own room where you can be in privacy. Kitchen and bathroom we will share and Im happy to have people around who like cooking. While the recreational area has no running water my house has all the modern conveniences. If the Trädhuset/tree house is not occupied you even can sleep up there and enjoy the beautiful surrounding and the silence.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is located near Umeå 20km away, the biggest city in northern Sweden where you can go shopping or enjoying the city life. The next busstation is around 3 km away. If you like to be in the nature the area around my place has a lot to offer: You can visit Mårdseleforsen this beautiful place is due to the river Vindelälven and experience the swinging bridges over the river or you can visit Högakusten at the baltic sea which is a world natural heritage. Its a lovely place to go fishing or hiking or even take a ferry to Vaasa, Finland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 259657552136