Looking for childcare/housework/gardenwork - general help - Bangor, North Wales.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/12/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Mostly it is me and 5 year old at home, with some visits from my ex partner and father of our child, David, who now spends most of his time in London. My partner Pedro will be around some of the time, too. I usually but not always stay elsewhere when David is back, and often David’s 13 year old son will stay if David is around, too. Both us parents are self employed in the music business. I am very interested in NVC (also known as Compassionate Communication/Mindful Communication) and putting this into practice in the home and family life. I am left wing, feminist, into healthy eating & living. I also really need my sleep & rest, never seem to have enough since having a small child, so anyone who stays is required to be quiet in the evenings as I really need support in this. I generally want the house to be quiet from around 9pm. I am in process of turning our garden into a permaculture patch. There is a Free Stall in the drive which needs maintaining plus I plan to put a free ‘Library’ there soon. Mostly the help I am looking for is babysitting and general help around the house & garden. If someone is good at tidying and organising as well as cleaning that is a bonus & I am up for receiving tips as a budding minimalist ‘recovering’ from mild hoarding! I also like to have a good laugh (who doesn’t?!) and singing/dancing together. Please feel free to play our piano and sing! I don’t drink alcohol or do drugs or smoke, and I would prefer non smokers but if you do smoke it’s ok as long as you use the garden. As for the area...Bangor is a great base to explore the mountains and beaches and the alternative living groups in the area. Sometimes the weather can be quite dreary but it is an outstandingly beautiful area in terms of the landscape. It's also handy being near the railway station so easy access to other places in the UK by train. I have a bike I can lend if you like cycling - it’s a folding bike and is just about roadworthy but could do with a bit of TLC. I really want someone that can take off some of the load of household chores so I can get on with writing and recording my music! I would also love to practise German and French so I’m particularly keen to host folk who speak those languages. And I love words, what with being a songwriter and all so I’m very happy to help you with English.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help with language learning - English and Welsh. I would also be interested in language exchange especially German or French. Travellers could learn about North Wales from this base.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love someone who has previous experience with young children and enjoys spending time with them. Also anyone interested in music, NVC, minimalism, environmentalism.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (fluent), Welsh, French, German (basic)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own small bedroom. Shared bathroom. Shared fridge. FOOD: We eat mainly but not strictly vegetarian meals (my child is vegetarian & doesn't like the smell of fish & meat, but we do still eat it occasionally, preferably at other mealtimes to him). I am also (unfortunately) on the low FODMAPs diet which is why I've started eating fish/meat sometimes. Mostly eat organic/local/ ethically sourced.
    Into natural health. Please feel free to ask any questions!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beaches, mountains, lakes, bike rides, local arts Centre Pontio. Ask if anything specific you want to know :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 253121798664