Gardening & caring for our animals - Unique vegan, mindful, relaxing experience in nature Matese National Park, Italy




Favourited 168 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    We're a young vegan couple living in a pink villa on top of a hill in the Matese National Park surrounded by nature and our animals. Lou, 30, is Dutch and Luca, 28, is from Napoli. A year ago, we said goodbye to Amsterdam to live a more balanced life in a quiet place, right next to the beautiful Ailano, where everyone knows each other and coffees cost only 5o cents!

    At home we speak English and Italian, but we can also speak Dutch, German and Spanish!

    We're looking for someone to help us take care of our animals: chickens, cats, rabbits and dogs & who can lend a hand in the house and garden. Soon we'll also have sheep!

    Are you looking for a unique vegan, mindful, relaxing experience in nature, working max. 4 hours a day, with lots of opportunities to explore the region (plus we'll definitely take you around too)?
    And do you come by car or do you not mind just to read, walk around and visit the little village Ailano on foot (because there's almost no public transport)?

    Then wait no longer! We're looking forward to meeting you :).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You get to know the South of Italy, which is so amazingly different from the rest of Europe, authentic to a fault and mainly, really warm and friendly, plus the food is fantastic!

    Luca can teach you all about Napoli, Italian gestures and Italian family life and how to play the guitar and Lou knows a fair deal about veganism, mindfulness, yoga, how to write and do arts.

  • Help


    An average day here will look like this:

    8.00: Feed the chickens, cats, bunnies and sheep and set them free
    8.15: Go for a walk with our dog through the mountains
    9.00: Breakfast together. If we're lucky, Luca will make pancakes!
    10.00-12.00: Work in the garden to cultivate our veggies and plant more flowers or perhaps build a new chicken or rabbit pen!

    12.00 - 15.00: Enjoy your time off and go visit Ailano, Prata or the beautiful Fontegreca

    15.00: Lunch by Luca, who truly is an amazing Neapolitan cook
    16.30: Walk with the dogs, or perhaps run
    17.15: Clean the kitchen & sweep the house
    18.00: Your workday is over! Perhaps play a board game, chill out or join Lou for a bit of yoga?
    19.00: Reading, pingpong, arts, music and/or movie time!

    Now, this is just an example. We're pretty relaxed with time. There will just be some things that need to be done over here, after that's done, you can take all the time you want to chill out, read, walk around, enjoy amazing food and cuddle the animals. Perhaps we can even go horse riding!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Italian, German, Spanish

  • Accommodation


    We've got a spacious room with two comfy 2 by 1.20 metres beds and a balcony with an amazing view of the valley. If you want, you can always eat with us!

    We eat breakfast and a big lunch/dinner around 15.00/16.00. Luca cooks something super Italian and delicious every day with fresh, biological and organic veggies and often pasta.

    If you want to cook for yourself, we'd like to ask you to only eat vegan or vegetarian food :).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off? Go check out Fontegreca, the Telese terms, Letino, Gallo, the castle in Vairano Patenora, climb some mountains, read from our library, do some arts, discover what birds fly around, watch the eagles or, of course, enjoy a coffee in Ailano.

    We've got a mountain bike you can borrow, plus we often go to Napoli, so sometimes you can just come with us to enjoy a day in the city!

    BEST TO COME BY CAR - IF NOT, ALSO FINE! Unfortunately, it's not possible to reach our place with public transport and without a car it's pretty much impossible to do some sightseeing of your own :). If you're cool with staying at our place or walk to the village (25 min walk) that's also fine! Plus, we will definitely take you around a bit, because we love to do some exploring of our own too!

    Lastly, because most work is seasonal our minimum stay is 4 days and maximum stay is 12 days. So if you're looking for a short and lovely stay, do contact us!!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 232173337988