Find us in BC's Interior and Experience Hobby Farm Living with a Fun Young Couple, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly and hard-working young married couple living on a beautiful 5.5 acre hobby farm minutes from beautiful Kamloops, BC. Our property has a creek running through it that we can swim in the summer and is truly a Hidden Gem with lots of greenery and trees in the middle of a semi-arid desert. During the winter, we are protected from big winds in our little valley making it nice and bearable to work outside year-round.

    Our hobby farm includes horses, chickens, dogs and cats. We are hoping to expand to have more chickens, ducks and eventually pigs as we work on sustainable living. We also have a large shop to do mechanical work.

    Our property backs onto limitless Crown Land, there is lots of horseback riding, dirtbiking/quadding, camping, hiking and fishing that we enjoy. We are open and welcoming and enjoy sharing work duties and working as a team. We appreciate getting a lot of things done in a day. We love eating, cooking and spending time with friends and family.

    We share most meals together, usually a quick breakfast before heading off to work and we share sit-down dinners where we can catch up on our day. We make homemade meals from scratch and enjoy whole foods with the occasional treat.

    We love learning about other cultures and sharing our experience. We love teaching and learning and being around others that can offer the same!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Some of the benefits of staying with us is you will learn to cook Canadian meals and see how we manage a small farm. There is also the opportunity to learn basic mechanics and learn about horses and how to take care of them and even train them. We have an interesting life that revolves around doing what makes us happy while building a life that is sustainable and fun and we love sharing that with others who are interested. Sean speaks English and Brigitte speaks English and French, we don't focus on teaching English as we need Workawayers that have a good handle on speaking and understanding English as there isn't much room for error due to miscommunication when working around animals.

  • Help

    Help

    As we are very busy and work long days, we would most importantly like help with daily tasks such as house cleaning, laundry and cooking. Bookkeeping/data entry would be a HUGE help, no experience necessary as it is very simple. There is also some yard maintenance like cutting grass, weeding and shovelling snow during the winter.

    Another important task would be cleaning and organising the mechanical shop so it is ready for work every day.

    Our biggest project we also require help for is rebuilding our property that got damaged by flooding. We are landscaping using machinery like a skid-steer, mini excavator and full size excavator and building fences.

    Horse experience would be great to help with feeding, cleaning, grooming and even riding opportunities, of course we are more than happy to teach the basics.

    We also would love to have the opportunity to start new projects, mostly in carpentry, to build a raised garden bed, a hay shelter, chicken coop etc.

    The schedules will be flexible as we sometimes require help evenings and weekends while we are around and need an extra hand, but some days work can be done on your own while we are working in town. We will respect the 5 hours a day for 5 days a week however if you are willing to somewhat follow our crazy schedules you are more than welcome to!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom with only 1 queen bed ( we are open to couples or 2 people if a bed can be shared), closet and basic furniture in our 1,400 sq ft home that is shared with only ourselves (husband and wife) and a dog and cat. The one bathroom will be shared as well as the common living areas/kitchen. The basement suite is rented out by our tenant who is also involved in helping out on the property and with the horses.

    There is internet, cable TV and landline. There is limited cell phone reception. We have a washer & dryer for clothes and a dishwasher.

    We keep the kitchen stocked with food to make your own food, we often share dinners which are usually made and eaten together to catch up on our day. You will be responsible for most of your breakfast and lunches and weekends are usually spontaneous for meals. We encourage you to cook ethnic meals for us to try! You can give us a list of what you would like from the grocery store or come shop with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transit available to get to our property, however you can get dropped off in town (Kamloops) for a few hours during the week day and driven back with our work schedules.

    There is lots to do around Kamloops on your time off, you can hang out with us, go hiking, skiing/snowboarding, enjoy craft breweries, wineries, fishing, boating, shopping, visit parks, biking, golfing, Wildlife Park, casino etc.

    We enjoy being around others who understand how much we appreciate getting all the chores done before relaxing or enjoying some time off. We love listening to music while we work and staying positive!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 223578422342